Sort:  

I lost all three of my hives due to my stupidity of not winterifying them at all. I am very upset about it. My employer lost about 35% which is not bad compared to everyone else in the Shenandoah valley.

Dang always hate to hear that. Talked to a friend of mine tonight that lost 31 out of 31. I had 14 in Fall and have 3 now. Getting my bait hives ready and a couple of nuc boxes to do some splits. Its a hard hobby when they die.

I knew it would be from the start, but when it was definitely my fault, it is so much worse. The fact that I am reinvesting and expanding shows me I am hooked.

Do you treat for mites? If yes with what?

I dont treat. I go back and forth about it. If I were to treat I would use one of the organic acids. I am trying to do a Fall feeding with honey and herbs to boost immune and antiviral properties. From my current understanding it is disease and virus that really effect the bees. I feel to many people are looking for a 'silver bullet' approach to it. Also feeding sugar changes the digestive track to a pH of 7 instead of around a 5. Big difference and it allows virus's to flourish.

I am the same way. A big part of my philosophy is that the less "solutions" humans come up with, the better. Usually they are just further problems.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65