When to Cut a Field with a Scythe - Still Figuring it Out

fieldfeatured.jpg

When do you scythe a field? This is the question on my mind tonight. Most of my property is old pasture and I'm hoping this year to cut it all with my scythe. But I'm unsure when exactly to do it.

Here are my thoughts about it and I would love to hear what you all think.

The Makeup of the Old Pasture

tallgrass.jpg

The pasture is mostly tall grasses but there are some other plants mixed in. The one that I'm thinking about the most are 2 types of vetch.

Vetch is a nitrogen fixer and it is helping improve the soils. Since I have plans to turn this pasture into a big food forest, a native food forest, a series of ponds and wetlands, a meadow, and several large gardens I would love to improve the soils.

beautifulvetch.jpg

There are parts of my pasture that are just covered in purple and white flowers right now from the vetch. Plus the bumblebees just love all these flowers.

But the grass is tall and getting seed stalks. If I wait too long to cut it then the grass will be brown and stiff making it difficult to cut using a scythe.

So I want to cut the pasture now but if I do so now the vetch won't be able to go to seed.

Current Thoughts

My current thoughts are to start scything the pasture but limit my cutting to the areas where the grass is the tallest which also tend to not have much if any vetch growing.

In the meantime I will let the vetch go to seed and the scythe those areas once the vetch seed pods turn brown.

This way the tallest grass gets cut and the vetch has time to go to seed. I'm worried that if I cut the vetch now it might not be able to regrow and go to seed before the summer heat hits it.

What do you think? Does anyone have experience with vetch and mowing? If I cut it all will it regrow and still go to seed this year? Or is it best to just wait to cut the areas with the most vetch?

Thank you!


Wild-Homesteading-New-outlines-50-x-250.png

Weekly Blog Post


Follow me for more posts all about homesteading, working with nature, and growing your own food: @wildhomesteading

And check out my blog - www.wildhomesteading.com for weekly in-depth posts on working with nature to grow your own food and start/build your homestead.

Sort:  

Congratulations @wildhomesteading! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42