She is a spoiled goat!

in #homesteading5 years ago

Our new girl Ayumi is resting from her first day on the homestead.
Despite having some escape issues this morning she stayed in the new paddock all afternoon. I have the option to add even more wires (in height) but does not seem to be necessary, at least today.

72636929_582337029176790_4309351811489202176_n - Edited (1).jpg
Ayumi grazing

After observing her for a day it is clear that she has some issues. At times she is relaxed and grazing or browsing with the group. At other times she stands at a corner of the paddock screaming at the fence. She was used to getting out whenever she wanted, this might be her way of complaining. I don’t go out to her at that time so after a while she settles down and rejoins the others.
Late afternoon I moved the whole herd indoors with a bucket of feed and she gladly follows so no issues there. She doesn’t want to be touched however. This became clear when we picked her up yesterday. I think she’s spoiled and had no rules, the way the previous owner interacted with her was too careful, meaning she could get away with everything.

I think this is the biggest issue. On our homestead she has to obey my rules. If I’m going to touch you, I won’t take no for an answer. If you have goats or planning to keep them you must be determined to be a leader and be firm about it. If you hesitate you’re out. That is what I learned from back when I was working at a goat dairy, glad I got to experience that in time.

74209822_604513503420628_6189103587851763712_n - Edited.jpg
All together with Shizu our herd queen up front

Anyway I fortified the barn for the night and letting her spend the night with the others. Before dark I took her out for a little one on one time (Go in and get her in one go is a must at this stage, you do not want to fight a goat, you want a clear win).
I had her on a leash, sat down in the garden and gently asked her to come to me. I ask her to come for treats while calling her name, she comes, eats and backs off. We’ve been repeating this a couple times and she picks it up really good! Beyond my expectations really. So we went to step two.
Then I’d pet her on the neck when she’s eating. She got spooked the first time but quickly catches on that everything is fine.
I’m training this so I can easily touch the collar without her bolting off. Normally I wouldn’t use a treat just pressure/release but this time the situation asked for it. It’s a gut feeling thing rather than solid science. Tomorrow we might go without treats.

Then, in order to give some relief from the build up stress we went for a little walk. She is not used to be walked so she resists, bucks, jumps and the like. I keep tension on the leash until she puts one leg forward, then I release pressure and tell her good girl. Repeat, repeat, repeat.
After a little while she gave me a couple steps at a time, that is enough for today. I did use stop and go commands as we went with this, she seemed to pick it up already. I took her to the goat play area so she could jump around a little since she likes that so much. Then we went back to the barn (which went really well!!) and now she’s done.
The whole thing didn’t took me more than 10-15 minutes but after a few times this will make all the difference.

72636929_582337029176790_4309351811489202176_n - Edited.jpg
One more stand picture. I love her growing winter coat. You can actually use the fiber from this breed.

I still think she will be a great addition. She will learn to come to me and walk with me. Those are the main things. She will learn to stay with the group and getting out is not an option. Shizu our dominant female has accepted her already but rejects her when Ayumi gets nervous. You see the herd move away from her at those times.
In response Ayumi seems to be shortening her screams already, I think she’s a fast learner. I didn’t expect her to walk a couple steps with me either, I thought she would be in a stubborn state for longer. Proves me wrong huh!

I'm eager to see how the next few days will change her behaviour. How will Ayumi be in a week from now?

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I’ve featured both this post and your previous one on Ayumi in the Homesteaders – Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you, always like reading the newsletter.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00