You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My 18 Year Old Self Asks, What Kind Of Life Is That?

in #homesteading6 years ago

This post is so lovely, it really echoed through me with such familiarity. I often think about all the pieces that needed to be woven together to help guide us.

It's funny as well, yesterday I dug out my old box of memories (to find that slightly terrifying real fur koala bear for @riverflows) and I fell into the contents reading my old essays, poems, letters and journals. It was interesting to reflect on the young girl (especially now that in am in my early 40's eeek!!)

I found myself thinking "if only I had known what I wanted sooner" because even ten years ago it seemed as though we had all the time in the word to figure out that thing that was calling to us.

but now, with deaths, with ageing parents, with a grown child, and days that pass far too quickly, I am being shown how truly precious our time here is. I am greedy and want as much time as I can grab onto because I have such a thirst to see, do and experience so much ...I know I could spend my life and know know every plant that grows on the land around me.

There are days where things are particularly challenging or frustrating where I wonder how much easier it would have been to just keep going with the flow, and living that simple, well paved life but that never sticks around for too long because we only have to open that front door to fall back into a mindset of awe and appreciation.

You said everything so beautifully in this post and this really is what it all comes down to for my husband and I.

While this lifestyle isn't for everyone, the earth is. Our connection with the earth matters.

Sort:  

thank you for this reflection which encourages me to see the value in my time just a little more. sometimes I feel like life is moving so fast and I can get caught up in it so easily, I let "moments pass me by" too much.

I know I could spend my life and not know every plant that grows on the land around me.

Yes yes yes.... this is truly magical, isn't it? How deep this lifestyle goes, and how far we can send our rootlets into the earth...

I agree, sometimes I wonder if another route might've been easier, but then something reminds me, exactly in the way you said, of the rich value of this life. I also know that I would likely be beset with a serious depression or other neurosis or addiction if I didn't choose a life that truly fulfills, enlivens and creates! It's kind of all or nothing for me-- since I'm here, why not go all in!! LOL The half lived life would've driven me raving mad!!!! XOXO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55