You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Received Next Years Seeds From Baker’s Creek

in #homesteading6 years ago

I am in the midst of planning our garden. I love mapping it all out and reminding myself of what lies beneath all that snow.

I sure wish we could all exchange seeds through the computer screen because I would happily share what I have. I think I have a seed hoarding problem. I really like trying new things but you always get way more seeds that you need in a packet and we also save seeds. You'd think I would be satisfied but I have the baker creek catalogue ...and some birthday money ... :) :)

I'm going to donate seeds this year, I've discovered that the library has a seed exchange in the spring (yes!) and there's some other great seed bank initiatives as well that I want to write about and share. So glad you are getting into heirloom seeds! I am

Sort:  

That would be really cool to find local seed exchanges. I have been looking into some seed bank places because I am really interested in old heirloom seeds. After seeing a documentary on a gentleman that collected seeds, I have wanted to try them to see how different they are from today.

We have also been thinking about how we are going to plant our garden next year and trying to figure out the best places to put things. Before long, we will be trying to start some of our plants indoors. I cannot wait!

I can't wait either! IT won't be long until our fingers are in the dirt again. I miss that smell!

oops, hit enter before I was finished. I spent some time researching and talking to seed sanctuaries, many are non profit and really struggle. Many ask for a small membership fee but I think the value is truly worth it. I have a Canadian contact if anyone is interested.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16