You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading: A Lonely Affair

We moved countries and it will have been ten years this year. At first we would email with closer friends, but it's tapered off as the years have gone by. Like you say, there was only really work to be talked about and as we became more self sufficient that was our work, but most people have no interest in hearing about it. I've always been a bit of a bore to most people anyway! Lol!

I've actually found social media a help in this area as I can connect with that small percentage who do get our perspective.

Sort:  

I can relate to everything you said. I have my husband and two dogs and you know something, for the most part I am not really lonely. Perhaps it's my naturally introverted personality that makes it easier. Social media has been quite hit and miss for me but I know I need it. I worry that I will get too much inside my head and forget how to interact with others if I don't keep trying to engage. This is why I think I have taken to Steemit so much this past week. I love that you can say what you think and talk about just about anything. It feels "good" here.

On Facebook I have to "watch what I say" on my "blog fan page" and I don't even bother posting to my personal page anymore because I find it depressing. Reddit seems a bit "aggressive and pessimistic" I don't feel at home there and my blog (walkerland.ca) is mostly one sided with me writing articles but very little feedback. You can't say I haven't been trying (lol). I am having so much fun on Steemit that I've been neglecting everything else completely this past week.

So glad I am here! Thanks for the comment, I look forward to reading more of your posts!

“On Facebook I have to "watch what I say" on my "blog fan page" and I don't even bother posting to my personal page anymore because I find it depressing. Reddit seems a bit "aggressive and pessimistic" I don't feel at home there”

^^^ see, now I really wish we were neighbors because yep yep yep me too!! Though I never was on Reddit; I used to be super active on Babycenter for years, but the aggressiveness and downright meanness of the social justice warriors, and having to be suuuuper careful about what I said, eventually wore me down. I’m just out of patience with the fakeness of Facebook and would delete my account if it wasn’t for my business page. Steemit has been a breath of fresh air. It has the support and friendliness I’ve been sorely missing in online forums. I’ve been neglecting my sewing for it, ha!

This really is TOO FUN! I am letting the house fall down around me spending so much time on steemit. This has never happened to me before where I was so eager to be online. I would close my personal FB page as well if I could. Hopefully things will evolve here where that becomes possible! :)

I was reading through all of that thinking yep, yep annnnd yep! Lol! I closed my first facebook account and the only reason I went back was to open a page to share our journey. I don't post at all on my private page, it's just interaction on groups, more for information purposes. On Instagram I do have a lovely circle of cyber friends, but I'm always cautious about what I post there. Most people don't want to know that we prepare our excess roosters for food, so unless I'm directly asked I don't mention it. It's amazing how often I get asked if we eat the miniature lop rabbits we breed though! Seriously!! Don't ask about the obvious food animals, but a tiny ultra cute pet animal, well we must be eating them!!

I like the lack of judgment here. I still half expect it when I post something slightly controversial though. Glad you're enjoying it here. It can be addictive! I need to put my tablet down a bit and get on with real world chores...

oh gosh, sorry for not replying to this sooner. I fell down a rabbit hole I think (lol). I really feel free to speak here. It has been so liberating. thanks for connecting with me I love chatting with you - I look forward to learning more about your world and these fancy lop rabbits of yours. :)

Lol! Don't worry about it. I nearly missed a reply the other day and it was my hubby who asked me why I hadn't replied to them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66186.23
ETH 3494.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17