Homestead Kitchen Reno: The Reveal

in #homesteading6 years ago

These cabinets were a labour of love: hand crafted, good old fashioned mortise and tenon joints, locally sourced & milled lumber, custom hand carvings, even the knobs and pulls are hand made.

If you are interested, I share some of the carpentry technique here. We do our best to have a small footprint, use local resources and support local crafters. This kitchen is for the most part home grown (other than the sink and faucet).

I have enjoyed being part of the process, learning about how cabinets are made (old school style) and watching it all come together. I think I appreciate them more because I know what went into each and every piece.

IMG_3821_01.jpg

This little cupboard over the sink is where we are keeping coffee, tea, sugar and some spices. There are little hangers for bundles of herbs, the drawers have dividers to keep things organized and there is a little door that opens up to reveal this terribly placed outlet that we rarely use.

IMG_3845.jpg

Spice drawer pulls. The screws were too shiny and new looking so the carpenter tossed them in a coffee can and stuck them in the wood stove for a while. Neat trick!
IMG_3835.jpg

Close up of cupboard.

IMG_3855.jpg

Spice pegs and cute little "secret door".

IMG_3892.jpg

The Left cupboards have shelves and one section has pull out trays. The doors are hand carved with our beloved raven.

IMG_3903.jpg

Our beloved raven Wilfred.

IMG_3837.jpg

The pull out trays. All of the shelves and drawers are made to withstand really heavy pots. We use mostly cast iron for cooking so we'll never have to worry about sagging shelves or drawers.

IMG_3896.jpg

There are three deep drawers on one side, one drawer and a pull out tray on the other. If you follow my blog you'll know that this was originally two drawers but then we realized the plumbing ran across. In the end we had a new section built and the original two drawer cupboard is on the other side of the wood stove.

IMG_3829_01.jpg

The Copper sink is hammered down over the edge of the counter. Copper is supposed to be antimicrobial. It's nice a big which will be perfect for washing our big pots and carboys.

IMG_3905.jpg

Here's that pull our drawer. To avoid the pipes at the back I just put small/short items at the back of this tray and the tall stuff up front.

IMG_3897.jpg

The cast iron wood stove finally looks like part of the kitchen. The top of this stove opens up so you have a cooking surface and warmers. We've also replaced that wobbly old kitchen island. The last touch is to add a few bar stools.

IMG_3875_01.jpg

One last shot of the kitchen. Of course none of this would have been possible without the talented work of Kerry O'Toole. He is a passionate and talented carpenter, wood carver and artist. He is delightful and professional to work with. You can check out more of his work here and here

IMG_3888.jpg

[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Sort:  

OOOOOOOO!!! How luscious and wonderful. I'm green with envy! If you ever wake up one morning and your cabinets are gone, it was me. ;)

bahaha. They are heavy, you'll need to bring help. Honestly I am still in disbelief that they are mine! My first brand new kitchen. Only problem is I almost don't want to do any cooking or work in fear I'll mess it up! :)

So beautiful! I'm inspired.

My guy will be gone for the next two weeks and I have grand plans to try to get more settled into my home, storage and cabinets and such do not exist yet its going to be a challenge.

Enjoy your new space!!

Thank you so much! I know what you mean about storage. This house has very little of it. Its so hard to be organized and tidy when things don't have a permanent home. I am forever packing things up in plastic totes and putting them in the shed - then pulling them out again. I've got to pull the summer coats out today and pack away all the parkas! Yipee for that though. I guess on the up side, it encourages me to to get rid of and not bring home unnecessary objects.

Over time it all comes together. Enjoy your spring sorting!

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

It looks beautiful! And must have been a ton of work lol

oh my goodness, this is beautiful. The workmanship is outstanding, I bet you are so pleased to be done. That beautiful copper sink is amazing. Congrats to you!

Thank you!

I must confess, one thing is not quite done. I haven't had the pleasure of using the sink yet. I ran into a snag and we've got so much to do outside today that It will be a day or two before we can go into town and get some plumbing bits. On the plus side, because of this the kitchen is absolutely spotless! :)

Wow, that is a labor of love right there!
I LOVE how it came out! I bet you are excited to use everything.
I also use cast iron for everything. Im talking to my hubby about hanging my pots up like that. They dont fit in the cupboards and they are taking up space in my oven and on the counters!
Great work!!

thank you! I got the idea about the pots from Jacques Pépin (famous French chef) He had this amazing wall of pots and you'd see him move around the kitchen grabbing pots and pans effortlessly and It made so much sense. There are some really cool ideas on-line ... I would like to do this nicer some day. For now I just used screws that they hang on ...it works ok.

Cool! Ill have to do some research. I had some of mine hanging on these large, rubber coated hooks for a while, but the rubber wore off pretty quickly. Then we redid our kitchen and got rid of the hooks...

wow turned out really well!! love this! impressive on many levels and fits so well into your beautiful home! ... omg a secret cubby!!! i am in love :) also love that your raven made it in!!

Thank you. I knew you would get just how special the raven ♥ is to me. It makes me so happy every time I look at him. Couldn't be more perfect.

This looks great! I really like the log cabin look and the rustic cabinets.

Thanks! I really do enjoy living in a log cabin. It's very durable, no dry wall patching or repairing, pretty easy going and comfortable! :)

So many cool features and the hammered copper is icing on the cake. I love your kitchen!

Thank you! I was quite nervous until it was finally installed. Such a big responsibility when you get to make all the decisons. I really hope the sink will stand up to the demands of our kitchen.

oh. My. Giddy. Aunt.

This is the most gorgeous of kitchens. So warm, welcoming and characterful! I adore it. Love the ravens. Love the handles. Can i pop over.for a cuppa and GUSH!!!

Thank you and yes please pop by for a cuppa! :)

I will just let work know and jump on a plane. 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58560.83
ETH 2491.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40