Harvesting Moringa SeedssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

This morning I woke up to see this incredibly large Moringa seed pod, and thought it might be time to harvest.

IMG_1957.JPG

I took the 12 seeds out of the pod, and placed them down to figure out what I wanted to do with them.

IMG_1958.JPG

One of them broke out of their winged shells, so I ate it. It was pretty good.

IMG_1959.JPG

IMG_1960.JPG

I dug up a hole in the backyard and put some good potting mix in it, the popped a tiny hole in each shell so the seeds could all have some air, and planted them all. I just hope one makes it. All of the videos I've watched have had people planting out dry seeds, so it makes me think I didn't wait long enough to harvest. On the other hand, a gardener once assured me that dried seeds don't have as good of a germination as fresh ones. We will see!

IMG_1961.JPG

Thanks for stopping by Steemians!

@vegansilverstack

Screen Shot 2017-06-24 at 3.05.38 PM.png

THEBESTLOGOREAL.jpg

Sort:  

I was immediately drawn to your post because of Moringa as it's relatively unknown and missed by many but have some many health benefits. It's great to start growing them and I wish you every success :)

Thank you Alex. You're right, moringa is an amazing plant! I plan to have many more trees. Following you!

That's pretty wild. The first pic looks dangerous like you could stab someone with it. Thanks for sharing. Will have to try this fruit/vegetable as long as i doesn't make me high.

Haha it won't make you high. Super healthy too!

i heard moringa is excellent for your health , is this true?

do u have a recipe to share with us?

The only thing I do is eat the leaves, fresh and raw :)

is that how u get the most vitamins and minerals? by eating raw?...and how does it does?

Yeah, you probably get more eating it raw, but some people dry the leaves and make a powder using a blender. That way you can eat more at one time.

@vegansilverstack
What a coincidence! I posted about my success sprouting moringa seeds for the first time just a few days ago.
Thanks for sharing. I look forward to reading about the outcome.

Nice! Alright I hope to give you good news lol

hellyeah. mines about 6 inches tall now

Nice! I just harvested a bunch of moringa for cuttings and leaf. I'll be posting about moringa propagation soon. Cool posts! Followed

Sounds good! Following you too!

This post received a 94.65% upvote from @lku thanks to @vegansilverstack! For more information, click here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38