First Sprouts in the new House - Success!!

WOOHOO Y'ALL I GOT ME SOME SPROUTS!

IMAG1749.jpg

I followed the instructions from @jonpetrich's post, and they came out wonderfully! I had the same kind of seed sprouter that he used and I am totally in love with it - it easy to use, and locks the trays together safely so you're not all crazy wobbly when you're moving it around. The clean up is really easy as well, with a little scrubber brush (I've gotten paranoid about plastics in the dishwasher lately).

IMAG1750.jpg

I let mine dry out on a towel for about 8 hours, and then they went into the fridge. I've been grabbing them by the pinch to snack on, some were added to almond butter & pita bread (sounds weird, but so good) and some are going to get mixed up into a chicken salad for lunch tomorrow PLUS putting some into a soup tonight.

I should probably get started on another batch then, now...

Sort:  

I need to start sprouting! They are so good and if you grow them yourself you know that there aren't any foreign chemicals on them!

you totally do, it's delicious and wonderfully easy! the hardest part was remembering to add the water to them 2 or 3 times a day; i ended up setting a reminder for myself on my cell phone.

you're not actually eating those poor little plant babies? savage. they just wanna live and grow, and watch their little sprouts grow, and die of old age, but no, you are eating them :(

i ate these little babies with gusto! they spent their whole lives pampered, warm, and bathed in love and adoration. that's why they are so tasty

"they're whole, short, lives" that is. how can you sleep at night with all those plant shrieks as you gullet them? oh, the savagery

yay! Success! I am about to put some sprouts on a sandwich :) Nom Nom!

SO YUMMY! extra nom nom when it comes to sammiches.

Yes! Congratulations on gettimg it on the first go! You can't beat fresh!

i was high fiving myself all over the kitchen - it was a sight as amazing as these are tasty LOL

So nutritious! I've been wanting to try this!!!

you've gotta do it! i'm half tempted to do just one or two trays at a time, every 3 days or so, for OPTIMUM freshness.

Great job! One of my favorite sandwiches ever is peanut butter, a touch of honey and sprouts on toast....so tasty! Make sure the peanut butter is really just ground peanuts. I love sprouts so much. I've gotta get my sprouter up and running pronto!

oooohhhh, the addition of honey sounds amazing, i've got to try that!

What do they taste like?

i used a mix of different seeds that i got at the health food store. they taste a little bit like the radishes that are in there, but it's a mild peppery taste. there's also just a straight up hit of .... freshness, for lack of better word. almost onion, almost chive, definitely fresh-rain-grass.

Yet another great idea that I've seen and wanted to act on. I've only been on steemit for a few days and I don't know when I'll get to follow thru on all the great ideas I've already seen on here. I love sprouts but for some reason never thought to grow some. Thanks.

you're welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63