How to Make Marigold Dye

Marigolds are an excellent plant, that has many uses around the home. In this article, I will explain how you can create a dye for your textiles using Marigold flowers. The bright yellow and vibrant oranges make it an excellent choice for dying fabric or yarn.

Marigold Dye.jpg

NOTE: The size of your textile will determine how many flowers you need. Below I just explain the process.

How to make marigold dye?

  1. Harvest marigold flowers and put them in a large pot
  2. Fill the pot with water, cover and let the flowers sit overnight.
  3. Use a hand blender to chop the flowers; this will release the color
  4. Boil the chopped flowers and water on the stove for about an hour
  5. Strain the flower peddles from the liquid into another pot or bowl to get your marigold dye.
  6. Put your cloth in the dye and let it sit for 12 - 24 hours.
  7. Remove the cloth from the dye mixture. Let it sit for another 12 hours to allow the dye to set.
  8. Wash the fabric gently and rinse. Then you can either dry it in the dryer or hang it on a clothesline.

See My Other Articles


What is Preparedness?

https://steemit.com/preparedness/@tincanjunction/what-does-preparedness-mean


The Best RV Discount Clubs Explained

https://steemit.com/travel/@tincanjunction/the-best-rv-discount-clubs-explained


If you like my content, please consider giving me an #upvote!
Follow Me:
Sort:  

Good post, I am a photographer, it passes for my blog and sees my content, I hope that it should be of your taste :D greetings

Thanks for your comment. I like your work, following.
@tincanjunction

Thank you for contributing your knowledge to help others! The Sotall Community has linked to your post here.. If you write any future articles with instructions on how to do any tasks related to a homestead or survival, to ensure they are added to the directory, please submit them. They will be added as soon as possible.

You are very welcome and thank you for sharing your knowledge with others!

I may have to try this one day! Make all the grandkids matching tie-dye t-shirts!

Make me one too! Hehe <3

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

This post received a 2.100 SBD (21.55%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @tincanjunction! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74