Family Ties… the problem with Loyalty!

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

I don’t know about you, but I am a member of a few different families or communities on the Steem platforms.

You start off with one, find another that falls into line with your beliefs and ideals, and then suddenly you find yourself a member of several, making new friends, building new ties, growing relationships.

Then along comes a contest, you can only choose one winner,
and you have to make a choice

All of the communities hold a place within your heart, otherwise you wouldn’t be a part of them, would you? You would dearly love to support them all… but sadly you can’t, and some tough choices have to be made.

Between a Rock and a Hard Place

The most recent contest by @theycallmedan with his 20K Delegation dPoll is one of those contests that, when you are a member of several of the qualifying contestant families, puts you between a rock and a hard place and the question of loyalty weighs heavily on the mind.

  • Do you support one of the groups you first joined?
  • Do you support the group who you seem to spend the most time with?
  • Do you support the group who is selfless and helps others?
  • Do you support the group who reveals what they plan to do with the prize?
  • Do you support the group who is using the delegation to help their own members or the group who is using it for everyone?
  • Do you support the group who is the new man on the block to help them grow?

There are so many scenarios and it will be a different scenario for each and every person, I have only listed a possible few.

Today, as a homesteader, as a contributor, and as a vendor, I am asking you to vote with me by clicking this link, to @theycallmedan's 20K Delegation dPoll and choosing @homesteaderscoop

You will certainly be amongst great company who have already chosen to support this wonderful community.

Who we are!

Homesteaders Co-op is a community marketplace where homesteaders around the world offer handmade, sustainable goods for USD, STEEM or SBD

Community Marketplace?

Yes, Community!!! Our marketplace is not operated like a company. It is run by a community of individuals that connect over a shared mission to create resiliency for our members. We want independence and economic viability for our hard work, while living more sustainably and giving back to our planet.

An Ethical, Free Marketplace

Vendors are empowered to keep 100% of proceeds (no commissions);

Customers and Vendors are empowered to transact directly with each-other;
Homesteaders Co-op is not a middleman in financial transactions.

Why STEEM?
Steem, a social blogging platform, has provided a safe and open community space where homesteaders exchange knowledge, support and camaraderie. We are proud that homesteaders are rewarded with STEEM tokens for sharing knowledge and experience. We welcome this alternative currency alongside USD in our marketplace.

Our Mission

  • to empower homesteaders through a concerted marketing effort that would support each other’s livelihood
  • to offer more diverse choices of quality and sustainable products made by small businesses
  • to offer more market options for using STEEM

We would love your support, and we thank you if you have already voted, and I for one personally thank you for reading this far.

No matter the outcome, we wish all the contestants every success, I wish I could vote for you all 💖

*********************************************

*********************************************

*********************************************


*********************************************

Sort:  

I'm with you on this one!
Good points that you bought up about making your choice.
@HomesteadersCoop is such a wonderful gift to the STEEM blockchain.
Well deserving of our votes!

You are exactly right, well deserving!

I totally get you on this! I'd have been much happier if I could have given three votes... But alas, it was just one. It's even turned ugly within some communities. I actually did vote for you today - it came down to several options, but I felt homesteadercoop is most in line of what I want to be supporting.

Thank you so much for your vote @viking-ventures, it is very much appreciated by the community!

Yes, I noticed some "ugliness" and that is why I felt the need to talk about loyalty... many of us are loyal to all our communities, but when forced to make a choice, it is not about loyalty but about what we feel the need to support... it is a tough one for sure.

That is wonderful to here. I'm so sorry you saw some ugliness - I hope we dont get to see that! xx

Thanks for your welcome. I joined the discord earlier (like I need another one...) I'd resisted previously because I'm not able to homestead at the moment - not like I'd like to. But I do what I can, canning, etc.

Then it sounds like you are already homesteading in some way 😊 welcome, I didn’t see you had joined the discord, I am happy you did 💕

Two summers ago, I was camping. I tested myself and realized I could find several sources of food and at least half a dozen sources of medicine, just looking around. I even used some when one of my girls wasn't feeling too well.

Then you are doing great... you should also consider joining the @naturalmedicine Discord... many of us are in there too!

I am interested in that Discord, but so far, the invites I've found were all expired... I do look to food and nature for my medicine.

Let me see if I can do an invite... I don't know how but I will try.... if I can't I will contact the powers to be 😉

For me it had to be homesteaderscoop too. The others are communities on steem, but the co-op extends this into actual life.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a wonderful way to look at it... I know the @homesteaderscoop appreciates your vote... thank you!

@thistle-rock - Thank you! I do see that this contest has caused many steemians to choose their loyalty. But I appreciate that you decided that your vote is not only about loyalty, because despite who you vote for you remain loyal to all of the communities you love. Nothing can take that away from you, certainly not a vote! And so it is even more meaningful to me that you choose to support Homesteaders Co-op with your vote, and I appreciate you making this post to share what you like about Homesteaders Co-op. Thank you so much!

@sagescrub.... as I mentioned to viking-ventures above, and like you have mentioned here, it is not only about loyalty... and I would certainly hope other communities do not hold that against their members 😉

Of course @homesteaderscoop would have my vote, it is important to me and I do believe there is not another person who has the heart nor commitment than you have already proven, so I thank you for that and a vote is just a little way to say thank you!

Thank you @thistle-rock. We all have our passions and abilities, we are all shining in our own way! I am glad to have HSCO to give back something, wherever that may lead :) I appreciate your support.

I understand this issue only too well Heather. I gave my vote to the @homesteaderscoop. I was so happy when the HSCO joined with @naturalmedicine and so a vote for HSCO is now a vote for both HSCO and NM.

Being a new member of the Powerhousecreatives and knowing what this delegation would mean for them, I would have loved to have been able to vote for them as well.

However, I also know what a vote for the HSCO and NM could bring to not just these communities, but to the whole of Steemit, as well as people who are yet to come to Steemit.

It's true because you vote for one, doesn't mean you value the other any less. I'm so pleased you have brought your feelings out in the open like this. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks @allyinspirit, it’s all about community! And thanks for sharing your view point too. ❤️

Pleasure Heather. I just saw that you have your store on the Homesteaders Co-op now. Fantastic. I'm about to go back there and have a look. I've just started setting mine up today ~ At last. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Yes, it took me a while to get the shop active, I had them sitting in draft form for over a month!

It is stocked with stuff I had on hand so I need to get cracking and make some different things.

Good luck in getting your set up, will be happy to see it!

Your store looks absolutely wonderful Heather. Yes once set up it will be good to continue adding new products, as it's also a wonderful way to keep marketing what you have there already.

Hoping to have my store complete by the end of the week. Will let you know, for sure. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

Thanks 😊 Can’t wait to see yours too! Sometimes we just have to push ourselves.

Ah, your posts are so pretty and symmetrical and really appeal to my Libran side!! Love it!

I totally get this dilemma - I'm part of a few groups too and LOYALTY IS HARD!! I've been so chuffed that people I know voted for HSCO because I asked (well, begged and spammed and called in favours, but mostly they were super happy too) and because it's such a great thing for this blockchain - and it's why @naturalmedicine votes went all to HSCO. I didn't want us to be in competition as I feel we're in it together!

Great post, well said, you are truly a fabulous force on this blockchain and we're so glad you are here!

@riverflows, you are one of the most supportive people I know here, thank you so much for always being so uplifting with your comments 💖

@naturalmedicine, @ghscollective, and @homesteaderscoop are all in line with each other, and everyone is so supportive of the other similar communities and that is so refreshing!

I am so happy @naturalmedicine turned over their votes to @homesteaderscoop and I am so pleased that if we were to win, the reward would be shared with you!

Our communities are definitely a match made in heaven!

Goodmorning dear, Thats came straight from the hart I understand and agree, I hope you stond ground in your decision When things got tough.
I voted and did a blog and this is What it is, i would have love if the mamas Made it but There Will be other times.

It is and was a very difficult decision to make, but make it one must, or not vote at all.

Choosing one over another does not mean one is loved less or you are less loyal, there are always reasons behind a person’s decision that goes beyond face value.

I do stand behind my decision no matter what.

Thanks for chiming in.

Well the i agree but the pressure is on and i heard from a few they find it hard to choose cause it might give the wrong signs, but so be it.
And offcourse i am chimming in ( hope that that is stopping by hahha )
Never heard the expression

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments. Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00