Watching my garden grow first tomato almost ready...

in #homesteading6 years ago

My garden is growing strong

Love seeing my garden producing. The progress of seeds to fruit is amzing to witness and even better when it ends up on the table.

20180704_202727.jpg

I am very excited

My first roma tomato is nearly ready to harvest. I went out to check my garden this evening and was impressed on how much closer my first tomato is to being ready to pick. One or two more days and I will be plucking it off the vine and serving it with dinner.
20180704_202803.jpg

There are more not far behind

20180704_202813.jpg

My bell peppers

Seems to being having a slow start. I am hoping that they start producing better in the coming weeks as I do see some new little buds popping up but so far I only have a few.
20180704_202744.jpg

My lettuce is a mix between success and failure

My iceburg lettuce started to well I am not sure of the right word for it. But it was hot and humid and over a few days went from pretty to wilted. So we popped them leaving the roots and they are starting to grow back. So hopefully in 90 days we have some heads of lettuce. But the loose leaf lettuce is still doing very well.

20180704_202837.jpg

My potatoes seem to be doing well

But till they are ready to dig up we really won't know how well they are really doing. I believe I planted enough for an entire years worth of potatoes for my family. If I didn't I will plant even more next year. I have red potatoes due to harvest first then russett potatoes a month later.

20180704_202828.jpg

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

It's looking great, how exciting that you have a pepper already too! I hope you do get enough taters for a year ☺

Your tomatoes look good!! Will you make a salad?

Likely will use it on a nachos. As that is the only way to get my boys to eat a salad.

Boys... typical.

Your garden looks great. I know how satisfying it is to grow your own vegetables. They taste better too!! I love fresh garden goods.

Thanks next year I plan to expand it and grow additional things. Currently I have roma and big boy tomatoes bell peppers two types of lettuce red and russett potatoes carrots cucumbers and watermelon I also have some herbs planted and sunflowers and we have some mulberry trees on our land. It is the first year living here so it is a work in process.

We as a family stated a allotment but only growing little food at the moment and just need to make more time to go and check on the crops we have started growing sweetcorn this year they about 4 foot tall now still working on making the other beds but the raspberry bush's is coming along nicely tomatoes seems to be struggling this year.

Looking good! I love fresh garden goods. Crosses finger no maurading rabbits or deer close in :)

We have both and foxes on our land too.

Yay! My tomato plants are still tiny. I think I'll be keeping them inside over the winter and it will be like last year's chiles - harvesting in February. 😂

How wonderful it is to be able to appreciate carefully how they grow under the care of these vegetables, the truth is that in my country they say that the people who grow plants are very stable and organized, and as far as I can appreciate. your garden greetings from Venezuela

I am totally opposite of organized. Stable okay yes but organized no I am very unorganized.

Coming along nicely ;-)

Your garden looks great. I know how satisfying it is to grow your own vegetables. They taste better too!!

I can't wait to taste everything. I will be checking to see if it is ready today to be picked or not. I think it will likely be tomorrow. But it is so close...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12