My first Hugel Mound - Practice For The Real Thing

I have found that we have some pretty rocky soil. That throws a bit of a wrench into my gardening plans - I have a big spot out in the pasture that I'm planning on turning into a big garden. I'm thinking that it will be easier to use raised beds than to disk up our rocky ground.

But, raised beds would mean hauling in a LOT of dirt. So, to reduce the amount of dirt that I will need, I plan on building our garden beds using the hugelkultur method of burying tree trunks and branches along with other compostable debris. Not only will I need less dirt on the front end, but this process will create more high quality soil that I can use later on!

I don't like jumping head first into things without doing my research. So, when Our Little Homestead Helper decided she wanted to plant some sunflowers, I figured it would be a good opportunity to build a couple of practice hugel mounds to see how the process works. I'm glad that I did, too! It took a lot more wood and debris than I imagined it would.

Interested in how we did it? Check out the video, below!



Thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings! Hopefully, you enjoy them. If so, you should check us out on our other social media platforms:


YouTube
Facebook:
Twitter
Instagram

Sustainably Yours.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the include! It's been a big week fere tidying up

Posted using Partiko Android

I've not done hugel but am interested in following the progress of yours

Posted using Partiko Android

Well done. We did the hugel raised beds and it took about 2 years to get them to producing well, but they are doing great now. Just be patient with it. It takes time for mycelium and everything to go to work, but it'll pay off in the long run.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I look forward to seeing how the mounds go; see if they handle that waterlogging. I've shared this post in the Homesteading - Living Naturally newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63683.34
ETH 2754.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64