Is This Chicory?steemCreated with Sketch.

After seeing some pictures of chicory, I began noticing little purple flowers all over the place. I found one that I thought was a dead ringer!

Is This Chicory?



The Whole Plant



It's getting on in the season, so there aren't many flowers left. A lot of them have already gone to seed and formed little fluff balls. I know that chicory is a relative of the dandelion, so this may be a point for chicory. .

After looking at my photos in more detail, I'm not so sure that it is. The first thing that caught my eye was the edges of the petals. In the pictures I have seen of actual chicory, the edges of each petal are kind of toothed; the flowers in my photos really aren't.

known Chicory


Image Credit

My Flower


You can almost see some jagged edges on the petals in my photos, but nothing like the photos that I've seen online.

I also noticed that the plant in my pictures have reddish purple spots on the unopened buds and receptacles that I haven't really seen in other pictures.

A Flower And A Bud



Can You Help Me Identify This Thing?


So, I'm a bit torn. At first glance, I was positive that I had found chicory; but, I am only recently learning of it, so I am 0% confident in my ability to identify it for sure. If you have any experience, please let me know what you think in the comments. Is it chicory? If not, what is it? Any and all help is appreciated!

* All photos taken by me using Canon Rebel T3; Lens Model: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II unless otherwise credited. Macro shots were taken using a cheap screw on macro adapter; post processing performed using Darktable unless otherwise labeled.



Thanks for reading today’s article! If you enjoyed it, maybe you would like to check out some of my other recent content:



Sort:  

I think what you have is a variety of Blue Lettuce, a member of the Aster family. Search that and see if it matches.

I think you may be spot on! Thanks!

Awesome! No problem. :)

I say Chicory. I know that there is a variation with the flower, but my vote would still go for Chicory.

good job of of chicory.

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71