Growing Wild Oyster Mushrooms On The Cheap: Multiplying My Mushroom Spawn

My oyster mushroom experiment has taken off better than I had expected! Both pieces of cardboard that I inoculated in my last vide ended up with LOTS of mycelia, so I decided to break them up and try to get some more cardboard spawn. Once I have enough, I plan on finding a good fruiting medium and trying to get the fungus to grow out into mushrooms.

In this video, I attempt to walk the viewer through the process of using a small amount of cardboard spawn to produce a lot more... hopefully! Stay tuned for more updates!



On A Side Note

I wasn't at all happy with the video quality of my last couple of posts, so I am experimenting with cameras a little bit. The first couple of videos were shot using my Canon T3, and they were very grainy. For this video, I used my Samsung Galaxy S7 in its 4K setting, but I read that it only records 30 frames per second. I think next time I'll try it at 720P with 240 frames per second. I think the tradeoff in resolution will be worth the increased frame rate.

If anyone has experience with video, let me know what you think in the comments!

Sort:  

Good work definitely something I need to get onto. A mission for my new sustainable garden when I move 💯🐒

Right now i have pink oysters growing from a barley block. I might embedd the block into really old deadwood to see if the mycelium takes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45