Homesteading and Gardening Weekly Contest "From Plug to Harvesting" by Sunscape

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

kale.jpg


Every year I get excited around the first week of January when I start to decide what seeds I am going to sow for the next season's crops. February around my home generally means it is time to start sowing seeds into plug trays under lights in my garage. By mid-march, I am overloaded with seed trays that really need to be moved outside into the greenhouse. I never start filling up the greenhouse until the last week possible. Here in western, N.Y. our nights get very cold. Heating a greenhouse is very costly so I keep them in the garage as long as possible.

Spinach, Basil and Anise for the Swallowtail Butterflies

spinach.jpg

Spinach Planted

spinach 1.jpg

Once the plugs are big enough I move them outside into my raised beds. I usually have to cover the frames with hoops and shade cover, along with heavy plastic in case I have to protect the seedlings from severe weather.


gardening 2.jpg

Growing Herbs and Veggies

gardening-side-4.jpg

Time for the first harvest of Spinach

spinach picked and washed.jpg


The first picking of Spinach is done. I have washed it well and it is drying on cloth waiting to be placed into freezer bags for dinner at a later date.


IMG_0169.JPG

It really has a super-rich, green color and it tastes.... oh so good!

Kale, Green Onion, Radish and Lettuce

kale and lettuce.jpg


kale 1.jpg

Blanching Kale for the Freezer

kale blanching.jpg

The dehydrator is running overtime

IMG_0170.JPG


This week I have dried garlic chives, chocolate mint, mint, spearmint, and the oregano is about to be done tomorrow. When all my herbs are dried throughout the summer I will make an Italian blend for pasta dishes, and herb blend for meats and also the mints will go into making some of my soaps. ;-)

Chocolate Mint Soap

Chocolate Mint 2.jpg

Growing my own herbs, flowers, fruit, and veggies keep me very busy all year long. I have been doing this my entire life since I was a teenager and I don't ever see myself slowing down at all. Be self-sustaining as much as I can be is so rewarding and I just love knowing that all my produce is grown organically and chemically free. Who could ask for anything more? Have a wonderful week everyone, from my homestead to yours.

Until next time, this is Sunscape...

Sun. Scape. Ing your day

@sunscape
Homesteaders Co-op -Sunscapes Soap Shop
Etsy Store - Crystal Vibrations
Etsy Store - Sunscapes Soap Shop

Sort:  

You are so organised. I'm glad we can grow year round here, because I've never managed to organise myself successfully enough to manage the seasons.

Posted using Partiko Android

Our season seems so short for all the work it takes to get to the growing point and before we know it we are harvesting. Time seems to go so fast. Thanks for visiting my post.

very cool
For me, planted Buttercrisp and Romain Lettuce
Greek Oregano, Italian and Greek parsley, Basil and chocolate basil, thyme, scallion, garlic, mint, Plum Tomato, red grape tomato, yellow gold cherry tomato, chocolate grape tomato, Yellow bell peppers, and chocolate bell peppers,
and now, you've inspired me, to do some Spinach
tomorrow, i'll find some plants already started, and get 'em in!

Your garden sounds just like mine. I have so much more growing and getting ready to harvest already. It is so exciting and I really enjoy doing it. My husband said to me, I thought you were going to plant less this year due to some physical issues. I said, I did. I only put in 50 peppers instead of 200, 6 tomato plants instead of 30, and well only 8 variety of squash. I thought I did well cutting back and he just smiled at me as we were picking the kale.

I forgot to mention, my little nightmare plant!

A few years ago, in my old herb garden, off to one side, I planted a small red raspberry plant. It was a Quart sized container. By the end of the first season, it had grown about 4 ft tall. And a bit more wide.

By the end of year 4, last year, it was about the size of my car.
It's 5 feet wide, and about 8 feet long, and about mid chest high.
I pulled in a large bowl every day, last season. Fresh raspberries, and made some raspberry liqueur. This year, Jams and Jellies are planned.

Oh, and the herbs had to all be moved!

Looks amazing Garden Goddess, love that you grow your own ingredients! Me too! check out my hedge of mint... LOL
20190522_162013.jpg

Wow, that is a lot of mint!!! I have to keep mine much more contained because I have Chocolate mint, spearmint, apple mint, and peppermint too.

This is very nice to grow your own vegetables and to make your own soap! You have managed to grow so many kind of green vegetables in such a small space!

I do grow a lot in a small area. It does work well for me and I am always enriching my soil yearly which helps a great deal.

Great post @sunscape Wish I had some place to start my seeds early.. Is horse manure diluted with water a good fertilizer?

It sure is! Just steep it for awhile to get all those rich nutrients out of it. I have never done it that way since I add it right into my beds. I do however use smelly, fish emulsion a few times throughout the growing season which drives my neighbor crazy. lol

Thanks.. You must have the best looking smelly place around :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45