How To Grow Papa-Potatoes In A Bucket - My Steemian VeggiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Something new to share. I've been busy this morning digging out potatoes in a bucket. I planted it last Spring. It was also my first time to grow  potatoes in a bucket. You don't need a huge garden to plant potatoes, only buckets.

Here's what you need:
Buckets with holes
Potatoes (with sprout)
Compost
LOVE

Put compost in a bucket ( just to cover the bottom) then put the potatoes, then cover it with compost. Water regularly. Do not water them too much. It can rotten the potatoes. After a few days, weeks you'll see the leaves are coming out. Fill it with soil, cover the leaves and repeat every time you see them popping out, until the bucket is full.
Digging out is the most fun part of it. Dig! Dig ! Dig!!! 
In this bucket I put 3-4 potatoes and it produced a lot more.
 

I brought the potatoes to the river and washed them:):)

The final selfie, before I make potato soup lol

The taste is so different when you grow your own veggies at home.
How about you do you grow your own vegetables too?

Hope you like my little potatoes in a bucket.
Feel free to comment below.

Yours truly,
The village girl @sunnylife in the Steemian forest

Sort:  

Home grown tast better!

yes, it is:) thanks for dropping by

I am SUPER thrilled you made this post.
I have been working on my garden for next year and one thing I want to do is add more (and I mean a lot) of container and bucket plants. Potatoes is one I had not considered, but seeing how easily and good yours produced, I am now adding to my list

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sunnylife to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

I'm glad you like it. It was also my first time. You can put 3-4 potatoes in one bucket depends on the size of the bucket then you'll see the magic after that:):) it just amazing!!! Good luck and thanks for dropping by.

You make it sound so easy lol

hehehe It wasn't that difficult really. It was a bit cold here that time I had to put the bucket inside at night time so it won't frost and cover the leaves with compost. But it was fun!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This is a good idea for growing potatoes. I have also grown potatoes before by taking potatoes which have sprouted and cutting them into pieces such that each piece has at least one sprouting plant emerging from it. Then I simply plant the pieces into the garden about 2 inches deep so that I can barely see the top of the sprout poking out. This has allowed me to take a few potatoes and multiply them into greater numbers through this method of division.

As you have mentioned, the taste of the final product is definitely different in that the garden-grown potatoes generally taste much fresher and have a "cleaner" look on the inside when the tubers are cut. I have not tried this bucket method before but if I can find a suitable container I will try it soon. This may actually work better in our mostly hot climate here in south Texas because it is difficult to grow potatoes to any significant size here in the summer due to the intense heat. However if they can be grown in buckets I may be able to move the buckets to a shady spot or some cooler area, which may allow for the potatoes to reach a larger size before harvesting.

Wow! that's the whole info there. Thanks for sharing:)
My first time and it wasn't bad at all hehe It produced maybe more than 5 kilos in a bucket.
The leaves dried out also then I start digging ém out.
When I peeled and cut the potatoes, it was just easy and so smooth.
Good luck and hope you can share it with us when you grow your own in a bucket.
Thanks for dropping by.

Ang galing naman! :) ang mahal na kaya ngayon ng potatoes. Binta na yan hehe

@emonemolover gawin mo den basta yong potatoes with sprout mo muna. Tas saka mo tanim wag sa araw kz takot sila sa araw, sa lilim lang, mag multiply sila madami magugulat ka hehehe

kamote lang natry ko itanim hehe.. nasa garden nyo lang yan?

madali lang eto patatas, sa garden ni lola yan, sa gilid lang nilagay 3 buckets ginawa ko yong isa nanalo sa Summer Show padamihan ng anak na papatas hahaha (frist prize) bongga d ba? harhar

bongga nga! nasa garden nyo lang ang patatas!

nayahaha nakki garden lang ako sis haha d akin yan

sayo na rin yan haha

@sunnylife you make it look and sound so easy! I will definitely give this a go! Thank you (@bearone)

worth trying really, but not sure in the warm climate, i did last spring was chilly here.During the day i put the bucket outside and at night time I put them inside so it won't frost and cover the leaves with compost all the time:) after digging I washed the potatoes and stored them in a dark place. (potatoes doesn't like much sunlight)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Sis eto muna pang bote ko sayo ipon muna si @ashlyncurvey ng voting power...

@princehon ok lang sis ako nde makaahon ang baba lagi nde ako maka upvote sa iba kahit gusto ko huhu
masyadong kinarer ang pag upvote, sobrang galak lagi hahaha

may msg ako sau sa discoord sis. mishu

You are very creative and I really like this. I'm glad you eat healthy

thank you my friend, I enjoyed the pictorial at the river then I saw flowers (from the neighbors and picked it too haha

That's great! Glad you enjoyed

Always prefer home grown veg! Thanks for sharing :)

My pleasure:) have a great day:)

Thanks and you too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47