You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Response to - Challenge: What are you doing to claim food sovereignty for yourself or your community, and why?

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hello @wildhomesteading!
Thank you for this wonderful article! I liked it so much that I shared it on my weekly curation-style post Look What I Found. This week I focused on homesteading-related posts. It is also part of the weekly Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @pifc.

I just wanted to let you know how much I liked your post! There are many things in it that caught my eye, but the one thing that kinda made my day was this one: "I'm the Restoration and Public Access Manager for a local non-profit that conserves and protects land for wildlife and nature in general. But we have recognized that without connecting people to our lands that our mission to conserve land would not work." I'm so happy to hear this from someone who actually works in wildlife conservation, since I believe that this should be the key to saving nature, saving culture, feeding people, keeping them healthy, keeping them wealthy (for real, not just in illusions), giving them a purpose in life, teaching them about the world in close analogies, and many more things. I know I'm going to enjoy your blog! :-)

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing the post and your kind words! The organization I work for really has taken that message to heart. We have 5 public access preserves that opened last year (we had none before that) and we have been running some really great partnerships with different community groups and schools to bring people to our preserves. Plus the new Inspiring Kids Preserve that is in progress but should be opened in a year or two. Though we are already having tours and education events at the preserve.

Thanks again! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58088.10
ETH 2353.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44