You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Thanksgiving ..........How and Why we Celebrate...My personal Story

in #homesteading7 years ago

Beautiful post! I remember your reply in the slack channel about Plymouth rock, and I had to LOL. So I got quite interested when I saw your post to find out more details. See, I didn't even know there was a Thanksgiving in Canada. As for the American one, the media is so full of it that I was an expert on the lore long before I first went to the US.
It seems like Canadian Thanksgiving is all about harvest and family. The timing is perfect (though I suppose it also depends on your latitude) to use up the last crops from your garden for a big feast. (Way more appropriate than late Nov.) And you've illustrated this with such lovely pictures! I especially like your harvest basket, your oven mitt pic, your dog Lacy, and the last photo of your kids with the lake in the fall in the background.

Sort:  

Thank you @stortebeker Most Canadian's spend their Thanksgiving like this, we really do have a huge emphasis on Family in this country, and gardening, homesteading is also something that is very very popular. Canada is comprised of more population living in rural farming areas, so it is only natural that gardening and farming is what we know as Canadian's, with such a short growing season. We have it as a national holiday.

So nice! I think these are real and tangible things, that beat fairy tales about pilgrims and indians any day.

lol......you are absolutely right......true stories! I am really hoping to read about a bunch of others celebrating.

I really want to eat what you have made. really very evocative natural appetite that you apply. I beg you to share the food with me ,, hkhkhk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33