Homesteaders Can Save America: (and the world too)

in #homesteading7 years ago

Homesteaders United.jpg

How Homesteaders Blurs the Lines

If you haven’t noticed, America (and the world) is burning. Media biases and political manipulations are splitting the very fabric of our society. The adage of “we speak not of politics and religion in polite conversation” has been thrown upon the ash heap of history. All is not lost my friends because the truth lies at the tail end of each and every vehicle parked at any Homesteading, Self Sufficiency or Prepping convention. Look closely at the bumper stickers and I bet you’ll find an interesting thing, diametrically opposite sociological and political leanings are well represented at these events.

Bumper Stickers 01sm01.jpg

Last fall Melissa and I attended our very first Mother Earth News Fair (MENF) and I noticed all the various slogans and election paraphernalia donning the attendee’s vehicles and T-shirts. Right there in the front row next to the entrance was a pickup truck with Trump and NRA stickers parked next to a station wagon with Hillary and NEA stickers. How nice, out in the “real world” these two individuals would most likely look distastefully at each other’s choices and prejudge the other, but here at the MENF, they were probably sitting next to each other learning how to make compost tea or how to build a rocket stove.

Bumper Stickers 02sm01.jpg

If we all could just take a step back and look at the big picture, those two types of people have so much more in common than they give themselves credit for. Most likely, each would love to have a photovoltaic solar collection system connected to their homes. Each would also agree that free ranging any animal is the preferable method of raising them, and growing heirloom vegetable and fruits are the best way to produce sustainable healthy food. Homesteaders share so many values and interests with our sociological and political opposites, maybe our attitude of making the main thing the main thing could save America (and the world) if others would follow our example.

Melissa and I have found many new friends online because of sharing our little homesteading adventures, and we hope that this community will continually grow so that all can feel comfortable in calling everyone friend.

Take care & God bless

header_image-copy.jpg

Please check out our YouTube and DTube Channels, Twitter "@StoneHouse_Home", and Instagram

Sort:  

A lot of societal ills could be healed to a large extent if we focused more on what we have in common than on what divides and differentiates us.

I agree @kate-m, "it's certainly time or we all will be out of time."

It's so true!!!
To take care of myself, my family, my environment and my community, that's what I want to do as a Homesteader. This way of life is good for all as well as for our great house, the Earth. My wish is that concerns for sustainable ways of doing things appear in all areas, mostly in the political field!
Leave behind us consumption to welcome sustainable creation !!!
Thank you for this inspiring sharing !!!
Happy to meet you!

I'm happy to meet you too @nature.sauvage. It's so fun to share our excess produce with our neighbors, they appreciate it and it helps build a community.

You just hit the nail on the head @stonehouse.

At the most basic level of human experience we all share the same interests that transcend everything else, namely Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.

Sadly, there are those in this country who would have us at each others throats by stirring up old resentments that most people have abandoned long ago. We must not fall for it!

Love and respect for one another can overcome any diabolical political scheme to divide and conquer us as a people.

Amen @e-pioneer, I truly believe most people are getting very tired of all this manipulation.

I love it! WE will heal the world! Welcome to steemit!

Thanks @wholesomeroots We are happy to have found steemit.

It is definitely different than youtube but I have found ways to integrate my videoes into steemit stories

Hug a Homesteader, Heal the World 😊

Sounds like something great to print on a T-Shirt @pennsif. ;)

I've been saying this forever. Let us speak of our commonalities vs. our differences. I bet there are a whole lot more of them.

It's so refreshing to read about your MENF experience. I've been a subscriber for decades, I've lost track of just how many. I look forward to your future posts and will be looking for them.

Thank you @themerrylotus. I've been reading Mother Earth News since I was in High School. I loved the articles about passive solar homes... and antique tractors. :)

Great post, so grateful for this community and its like minded individuals...I feel so lost when I go out into the real world and leave my farm....following
Blessings,
Melissa

Thank you @joearnold for responding and the follow! I know how you feel about going out into the real world. Every year or so we go back to the town Melissa and I first settled in after getting married and we can't imagine ever going back to that lifestyle. That's why we use social media to promote the homesteading lifestyle; we want to encourage other suburbanites like we once were and to meet like minded people like yourself.

there you go! perfect fit and cause!
blessings,
melissa

Truer words were never spoken. If only more people understood this. Thanks. 🐓🐓

You're welcome @mother2chicks. I agree, I'm happy that you feel the same way.

I know in Michigan, where I am at, we have three different homesteading and prepping events coming up later in September, I have plans to attend all three. They are within a two hour drive of me and I would love to attend.

Welcome to steemit and I am definitely a new follower!

Thanks @goldendawne for the follow, we are following you too.
It was certainly a blessing to use when we attended the Mother Earth News Fair. We got to go to seminars by the people we follow on FaceBook, YouTube and the many books and articles they have on their websites and in bookstores. It was like seeing our favorite rock stars, sort of. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61354.39
ETH 3309.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47