You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building the Salatin Pen

in #homesteading6 years ago

Interesting!! I like the design. It seems very large and heavy though, but I supposed that is good for stability.
I've never done a chicken tractor, but I've considered it a few times. I ended up just letting my birds free range, as our property is fenced. That has its pros and cons though... I'd love to NOT go outside and step in chicken poop on my porch!

Very well put-together post!

Sort:  

It is sort of heavy but on flat land moved easily enough. It only has to move 12' each time.

I can not free range due to extremely high predator load here.

This was our first prototype, and we moved on from it to a couple others. I will be making posts about them in coming days.

Yes, I imagine only moving it that far is not a big deal.

I get that not everyone can free range. We got lucky and are in an area that is situated in a way that is sheltered from the wildlife. Our neighbors have predator issues, but not us.

Looking forward to seeing your posts about the updated chicken coops! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56