♥ ♥ ♥ Baby Goaties have arrived!! ♥ ♥ ♥

in #homesteading6 years ago

You all may already know I raise Nigerian Dwarf goats. It's just a small operation, enough for milk for my family.


Here are some of my past goatie posts:

Should I register?
Hoof Trimming
Goat birth Control?!
Fun Facts
My Favorite Livestock
Preparing to Tattoo
Baby Goatie Pics

You're welcome! Feel free to get your goatie fix!

Anyway, my does are all due this month and next, and yesterday morning, my best girl Faline popped!

Three babies!
All blue eyed!
All moonspotted!
ALL FEMALE!

Couldn't ask for a better combo than that!

Without further ado, Faline's babies! ♥

P1060177.jpg

P1060218.jpg

P1060235.jpg

P1060245.jpg

P1060192.jpg

P1060206.jpg

P1060189.jpg

You know, no matter how many births we have here, it just never gets old. I am just as excited by these girls as I was by the first births we ever had.



Life is beautiful. God is Good.


Thank you for stopping by to share in our joy! ♥



Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png
Click the banner above to join a cool group of mamas on Discord!

Sort:  

Whenever I know I'm about to see a baby goat, I think 'surely, they aren't as cute as I recall.' Then, I'm promptly proven wrong.

Handy guide to goat anatomy for those of you who are searching for the correct words.

Yessss... I love that picture.
As a goat owner, I can confirm that guide is 100% accurate!

I do the same thing. Every year I think this batch of babies will not surprise me with their cuteness, and each year I am astounded and wrong. :D

They are a sight to behold. :-)

Haha thanks!
They are even more fun to hold and play with!

How cool! I am loving seeing everyone's new babies on Steemit today! I wish our sheep would let us get close enough to get awesome photos of their lambs, but they just trot off.

What stinkers!!
You need to zooooooom in!

It was hard to get pictures of these guys, they wouldnt stop moving!

If only the dogs hadn't eaten the telescoping lens I got for my phone for Christmas. Those shitheads.

LOL! What turds!

They are beautiful!❤
How will she do aa far as milking goes if she has 3 kids?

Well, she has plenty of milk for all three. :D
They take turns.

When they get about 2-3 weeks old, I separate the babies at night, milk her in the morning, and then leave them together all day. She actually holds back enough milk for her babies. (How can she do this?! I dont know!)

After they are weaned, all that lovely milk is for us!
(I cant wait! We have had to buy store-bought milk the past couple of months, and it just cannot compare!)

Awww they are so cute at that age aren’t they

YES! They sure are! ♥
The kids are out there cuddling them and playing with them every chance they get.

I can just imagine that :)

Good looking bunch of little critters. I had a "fainting goat" when I was younger, if you scared it , it would faint. I was told that it was a breed but not so sure that it was correct, but he would damn sure faint when scared.

Thanks! :D

Hahaha! I have heard of fainting goats, but never had one of my own. Yes, it is a breed. I think they are also small like pygmys and nigerians...

I kinda want one just so I can scare it... I know, that's mean, but it would be funny. :D

They are small and when they faint, their legs lock up, so they don't really fall over unless you give them a little nudge., at least that is how ours did. you need to get one and check it out. If it doesn't fit in with your group you can always BBQ it.

Haha I sure do! That would be fun. :D

Never had to eat a goat yet, but that is always the backup plan if we have excess babies we cant sell. In my area though, these little cuties are in high demand, so I don't forsee this happening anytime soon.
Two of these are spoken for already! (Ill probably keep the third. I wanted a doeling from this girl.)

Sound like it will be chicken for dinner since you have them all accounted for.

Yes, I believe so! ;)

They are so cute! I'd love to play with them. In a way I want to get goats, but I'm no farmer - I don't do well with illness and death. It's bad enough when things happen to my chickens, I don't want to deal with those problems in mammals. So I will just enjoy your pictures :)

Haha, thanks!
Go ahead and enjoy! I should have more pictures as these cuties grow, and as the other does have their babies.
These are my favorite livestock for sure! So smart and funny, friendly and sturdy. And those babies are just so darn cute! ♥

I don't think anyone does well with illness and death... I know I still stress out and worry if I have a sick critter, and if I cant save one, well, Ill admit it... I cry.
It's not easy. But its worth it.

they are so beautiful and those eyes xx

Thanks!!
We have a buck who always throws blue eyed babies. ♥
Not that it makes a difference health-wise, but people love the blue eyes. :D

@squishysquid the baby goaties are really adorable! Makes me want to start my own homestead! You are so blessed! Loving life! I am so glad that you are part of @steemitmamas and I have an opportunity to connect with you!

Thanks so much! ♥
Its a fabulous group and I am so glad to be a part of it. :D

Damn they are so cute i would love one as a pet i reckon they would be so cool :)

Lots of people do keep these guys just for pets since they are small enough to be manageable and super smart and friendly!
If you ever DO consider them, make sure you get more than one! They are herd animals, and do not do well alone.
Thanks for dropping by!

My pleasure will keep that in mind...Thanks for the info :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56