Current Events on the Homestead

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

cover.png

We've finally done it folks, we've reached current times on my blog. It took around 3 months and 50 posts to cover my journey away from the mainstream so far,here on steemit. I've been constantly amazed by the quality of people and their content here and so glad I chose to come here rather than any other social media site. Thank you guys for following along and providing so much support and inspiration. This post is about what's been happening on our homestead since February of this year. I returned to the hills after the year end holidays expecting to get a bunch of work done, but before we could get to it, there was some damage that happened in my time away that we needed to fix first.

Cow Attacks!

At the moment nobody lives on the land full time as our workers go back to their village after the day's work. During the festival season when there was even less human presence on the land, the local cows had free access to graze on the grass and weeds that had sprung up post monsoon. Our neighbour's land is at a slightly higher elevation than ours. This meant that the local cows were able to simply jump over the fence that we had initially built. Unfortunately our terraces couldn't handle the weight of the cows and collapsed in several places.

2.jpg

0.png

The first thing we needed to do was raise the height of our fences to prevent any further intrusions by the cows. The workers start by salvaging tall sturdy wooden trunks which are then placed at intervals in front of the existing fence.

4.jpg

I needed to buy the chain-link material from town and transport it to our land. I visited a steel store in town and placed an order for the required fencing material. The chain-link is rather expensive at around 5000 Rupees for a 100 foot roll, which is about 75 US Dollars. As our land is relatively small at around an acre, we can cover the perimeter where the fence needs to be raised with around 6 rolls. I transported these in installments as I also wanted to transport tin sheets for future builds. I took 3 rolls and 20 8x3 feet tin sheets the first time around with a hired 4x4 pick-up truck.

5.jpg

6.jpg

Last week, the family drove down to visit and brought along a lot of useful stuff for the farm including a tent, a toolkit, a solar setup from a previous design project and two avocado trees they'd got from a local organic farmer in Chennai. We figured we could transport all this stuff in the pick-up truck along with more fencing material. So the pick-up truck stopped by my room in town where we loaded all the equipment and I rode shotgun with the avocado trees. After a quick offering at a local shrine by our driver, we were off to meet the family on our land.

7.png

We reach the uppermost access to our land in around an hour and unload all our equipment.

8.jpg

9.jpg

The chain-link is nailed to the wooden posts to finish raising the fence.

IMG_20180219_151835.jpg

IMG_20180226_160521.jpg

The cows are no longer able to traverse our land at the moment and hopefully the raised fence will keep them out. We also repaired our terraces using earth bags. It isn't as aesthetically pleasing as the rock reinforcement we did before, but is sturdier and should withstand the elements.

10.jpg

Pump Trouble

Meanwhile our pump's starting coil was broken and there was nobody in town who knew how to fix it. My dad came up with the genius idea of sending it to the city with a bus driver who passed it on to him. He later couriered me a replacement assembly and the local mechanics were able to fix the pump. We've been getting intermittent rain but still need the pump as a backup to water our trees at least twice a week as the sun can get intense when it isn't raining. Hopefully introducing swales will make us less reliant on the pump, but we need it for now.

IMG_20180219_152527.jpg

Trees

Our trees have shown some growth in my time away. They could be doing better though. Some of our OG amaranth have survived and a few more have grown from fallen seeds. The peach tree near the amaranth is doing much better than another peach tree on the same bed. Just goes to show how companion planting is beneficial. We'll soon have to supplement all our trees with nitrogen fixing species close by.

1.png

We also planted our new avocado trees near the well so they could be watered by hand regularly and also benefit from the natural drip irrigation our well provides.

11.jpg

Puppies Galore!

Another new development is that our neighbourhood dogs at Hike N' Heal have given birth to puppies. They're everywhere and make my walk to the farm a lot more fun as they're getting curious and have taken to following me on my commute.

IMG_20180201_154028.jpg

GIF-180313_191726.gif

IMG_20180226_155706.jpg

What's Next?

As I'm writing this our workers have used 3 rolls to raise our fences. They're collecting wood for the next part of the fence and will shortly finish that work. I'm also planning on moving to the land and building a temporary camp home until we can begin construction on a wattle and daub mud building. It'll take a few weeks to orchestrate that move to the land. The summer holidays also start for schools soon and Kodaikanal becomes crowded with tourists. This March marks a year that I've been involved with our land and this seems a good time to move. As we'll be in the driest time of the year shortly, I figured we would focus on our infrastructure and start planting closer to the rains, and when I'm settled on the land. A lot of the intricacies of planting requires careful observation to truly understand and that;s something that's been lacking all this time.

You may have noticed that my homesteading posts are spaced further apart. Partly because of the limited internet access in the hills and also because now that we're all caught up I have to wait for actual progress before sharing the next post. I've also been getting more involved with more art in my free time and will be posting the results of those creative sessions in between homesteading posts. There will be a lot more happening when I'm living on the land and I'll provide more frequent updates depending on connectivity there.

I've also realized that in all this time we haven't settled on a name for our farm. A few considerations are Orenda, which is an Iroquois name for the magical energy present in all living beings. Turiya, which is the fourth state of consciousness beyond time and space. Both represent the interconnections between life which is perfect for a farm. Or should it be simpler like 'Stone Mountain' or it's Tamil translation Kal Malai. What do you guys think? Do you have any great farm names?

If you're new to my blog here's a recap of my permaculture and homesteading journey so far. We've got a lot of exciting stuff planned for the future too!

Starting our Permaculture Journey on a Homestead in the Hills
Moving to Kodaikanal on a Journey Towards Self Reliance
Fencing, Terracing & Preparing Beds on the Homestead
How we Built our Stone Well on the Homestead
Our First Crop Yields!
Pickling our Carrots
How we Built our Stone Toolshed
How to Make Compost from Leaves

Untitled-5-01.png

| PAL-Minnow Support Project | Homesteaders Online |

unityguild-01.jpg

sascc-01.png

Sort:  

Gosh, I cannot wait to visit!!

So many things to fix once you went back. The farm seems to have kept you busy. You know when you plan on doing the wattle and daub building? I'd love to come, stay and help build it if I can.

And omg those puppies!

For the name, I like where you're going with Turiya but I also like the idea of something simple in Tamil. Dunno about Kal Malai :P Maybe something like mann for soil? It's nice, simple and represents the essence of what you're doing in the hills. And it means heart in Hindi which is what you're putting into the farm.

It's what I wanted to name my mother's farm before she went and called it *Sumathy Farms *-.-

I'd love to have you over! We've got to do art parties here too.

We've got to first put up a frame and the roof and then dig our swales for the mud we need, so guess we'd really kick off around mid April. There's always something going on though so visit anytime.

That's a neat name. If we're being local with everything else, why not the name? It's so hard to pick just one though.

Mann is actually a really nice name with both the meanings. But Turiya has a nicer ring to it in how it rolls off the tongue.
I loved reading this, even though I've seen a lot of it in person. Excited for all the things to come. And ohmygosh the puppies! Why'd they have to come after I left?

Looks like a lot of progress so far. Too bad about the cows. There seems to always be some pesky animals throwing a wrench into things.

It's been a good year so far. Minor setbacks are inevitable in this line of work but we've made steady progress. Those cows could be useful, just not when they're running around our terraces.

OMGosh! What a great update!
Your avocado tree looks so good!

Oh and the cows... dang them! But glad you were able to get the fencing you needed. I can't believe how expensive it is!

Thank you! The avocado trees are the tiny things you see diagonal to the corners of the well. They're still babies.

IMG_20180308_144704.jpg

Yeah, a lot of material in the hills are more expensive because it takes effort to get it there. We don't have a train station or airport so all the goods need to come up by road. Luckily my parents are helping me with the farm finances and these expenses should hopefully be a onetime investment that will last a long time. A lot of farmers can't afford fencing and have to resort to nightly vigils with drums and torches to keep the animals away. We're lucky that we're in between two other farms and close to the village so we don't have to deal with animals like elephants that some of our friends have problems with.

Ohhhh, I think I saw the other tree in the picture. But still! That little guy is gonna give you a healthy and beauty harvest one day. Avocados are so good, healthy and yeah, I could eat them all the time. Just TOO expensive and I'm not sure I could grow one in my zone- too cold.

Awesome update man. Looks like a slice of paradise.

Thank you! It truly is. Can't wait to be living here full time. I just hope those internet waves reach my tent.

Wauw thats a decent piece of land with a lot of potential in it!.Those puppies are adorable, and would be perfect to have the as a sort of guard dogs running around there.

My god what an amount of work you have/had there, but it is really cool stuff to do!

Thanks, we found it by some sort of serendipity. We're at the very start of our homesteading journey so there's a long way to go yet but we're making slow but sure progress. The puppies are great but soon there may be too many of them!

All that work is because we were also fortuitous to have a great neighbour whose entire family works for us. Mountain folk are so resilient and make difficult tasks look easy.

Tough people! But sooooo good to have on your side! I understand the perspective of living in an remote area makes everything a bit more difficult and more expensive. So having some good neighbors is gold man, cherish it!

What about the Mountain of the Turtle or Turtle Mountain?

Or Soul Mountain? Or Soul Turtle Mountain? 🦋

Haha, all pretty cool names, but I kinda feel like the name should reflect a more communal theme, or something larger than me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71