Making a Lovely Fruit Tart...WITH THE SUN! (VIDEO)

in #homesteading7 years ago

vlcsnap-2017-09-03-11h31m16s266.png

This is one of my favorite desserts to make for my family, both because it uses whole, healthy ingredients (there's very little sugar to boot!) and because it comes together rather quickly. Once you get comfortable with this relatively simple recipe, you can make it whatever flavor you want or whatever fruit is currently in season.

This recipe is completely doable with a conventional oven--just follow the instructions as normal. HOWEVER. If you have a solar oven, this also works beautifully with that too! Just be sure to set your oven out to preheat for about an hour before you bake, as you would with any sun oven recipe.
​Ingredients:

CRUST

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour (OR! You can do 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/4 cup whole-grain cornmeal for a nice texture and crunch.
  • 2 T cane sugar
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1/4 cup fat (I prefer using butter or coconut oil)
  • 1 t. almond extract (optional)
  • 2 T water

FILLING

  • 2 eggs
  • Fruit! I use the juice and zest of one lemon and one lime in the video below, but you can really use any fruit or juice that you want. As long as you have between 1/4 and 1/2 cup of fruit, you should be good to go. Try strawberry puree, blackberry jam, mashed mango with zested ginger, or whatever you happen to have on hand!
  • 1/4 cup whole milk (can be optional as well, but not for me--I love the creaminess it imparts!)
  • 3 T cane sugar (you can use up to 1/2 cup, but I really would recommend trying to put as little sugar as possible--the flavor of the fruit is so much more pronounced with less overpowering sweetness, and your body will thank you!)
  • 1 T whole wheat flour
  • 1 t. vanilla (optional)

Steps
Watch the video below for all the steps on how to make this simple, summery dessert!

Let me know if you have any questions about the recipe/cooking it with the sun oven, and I'd be delighted to help! As always, thanks so much for watching and reading.

Other places to find Simple Life Homestead on the Internet!

Blog: http://www.simplelifehomestead.com/
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwDzB6sjt8sZfB9hVUojxrQ
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SimpleLifeHomestead/
Twitter: @SLHomestead

Sort:  

Hello @slhomestead, I liked your post so much that I included it in my curating post Look What I Found. You can take a look at it here: https://steemit.com/curating/@stortebeker/mushroom-leather-solar-oven-and-goals-that-are-beyond-smart

Thanks so much, @stortebeker! We feel really excited to finally be able to contribute our experiences to the super-generous pool of homesteaders online. Before we moved to our land this summer, we were gleaning wisdom and stories from people actually in the field, dreaming big dreams. So crazy that it's finally happening! :) I hope that our stories can help others along their way! We really appreciate your curation.

Of course, always glad to share information. :-)

Very interesting and delicious looking and the sun oven was new to me.

They were new to me last year, too! I had a hard time believing that it would get as hot as a normal oven, but it certainly does. I've baked bread, potatoes, corn, and all sorts of other things in this thing, for the price of...free, haha! The model I'm using is this one --> https://www.sunoven.com/

Thanks for letting us know the model! I've been interested in electricity free appliances for a while so I think sun ovens are super neat!

It works really, really well. I promise I'm not paid by SunOven, haha--it's just a product that works the way it should! It's also super simple design--less to break.

All rightey! I love solar stoves and ovens. Some work all right, other amazingly. I think I've seen the model you are using. It looks quite sophisticated to be home-made, right?

True! This is the All-American Sun Oven (https://www.sunoven.com/). I don't have any experience with any other brands/homemade models, but I like this one! It may have been a bit pricey at the onset, but I think the energy it has saved us has already paid for it.

To tell you the truth, this is the only commercial one I've encountered, next to a bunch of home-made ones. The final analysis: The good folks of All-American Sun Oven put sufficient effort into their product to make it superior to all self-tinkered ones. Which on one side makes me a bit sad :-( but once again it goes to show that if you're serious about your product you gotta give it a serious edge, which is what commercial industry is good at. The fact that they're applying this concept to solar ovens puts a big smile on my face. :-) Now we don't have to re-invent it for each and every home user.

The only other brand of sun oven I've heard of is the Solavore (http://www.solavore.com/). In the homesteading community, I'm pretty sure the spirit of tinkering and making things out of nothing will continue, regardless of what is ever developed. ;)

I've used solar ovens in the past for dishes like stews or meals we can slow cook for long periods without electricity. I'm excited to test mine out on your recipe. Thanks for the post.

Awesome! I'm looking forward to learning new recipes in mine--this is my first summer with it. Do you make up all your own recipes?

Some of the recipes are from what I've found with solar cooking. Others are recipes that we have for our crock pot.

Hi there, @slhomestead Wow! What an awesome video demonstration. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in the upcoming issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment. At your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your fabulous info. posts.

If you'd like to share it, you are more than welcome to do so. Thanks for asking!

Hi, @slhomestead You are very welcome. And we thank you.
Have a wonderful day/evening.
PostHuntress, @the-curator

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57