You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Potato Harvest...or potato famine

in #homesteading7 years ago

Potato Famine here in central IL, at least for me. Even though we have had very little rain I could have watered more. Because I didn't my cinder block potato patch didn't give me much. Here is a shot of what I did get. I plan on creating a post on Steemit probably tomorrow talking about the cinder block experiment. I finally decided to jump in and create some of my own content and the experiment will be the first post, outside of the into one.

Sort:  

Homesteading when you haven't grown up doing all these things can be a daunting and sometimes heartbreaking task. It is hard to put in a lot of work and planning only to find out months later it didn't work. Keep it up, and I look forward to viewing your post about the cinder block potato patch.

Very much agree! When I grew up there was no garden, only 3 blueberry bushes. When I got my own home and was more concerned about where my food from is when I really started to look into the homesteading life. Once you starting doing it you can really appreciate where and how your food gets to your table!

My family usually had some kind of garden, usually just for fun. We never canned much. My grandparents always had a one acre garden but they were nearly 5 hours away. I have to say I feel I have had more failures than successes, and at times has knocked me down for months, but I eventually get up, learn from my mistakes and move forward... and figure out what new mistake I can learn from. LOL!!!

@myhomesteaded my grandparents had a garden too, for me only about an hour away out in the country. I would bet that most grandparents had gardens as it was more popular to grow most of your food as possible. It was nice to visit and eat right out of the garden, nice and fresh! As long as we learn from our failures and don't give up.

I also finally put up my first post, please check it out!
https://steemit.com/gardening/@simms50/cinder-block-potatoes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39