Potato Harvest...or potato famine

This years potato harvest was disappointing, but we have learned much. I need to do more in the way of preparing a solid planting area, with more soil and compost. I should have let the sweet potatoes stay in the ground another 4-6 weeks. These are things I am starting to remedy now. I want a successful year next year, and I am just going to have to do more in the way of preparing the areas better. I pray I am blessed with a good harvest next year. Also, there is a teaser about an upcoming contest I a have been playing around with. Stay tuned!!!

Thank you for watching.
Please Upvote, Comment, Resteem and Follow.

And have a great day.

Sort:  

Those little potatoes look so tasty! I think I'll try to grow some next year. Did you add dirt to cover the stalks as they grew? I hear that helps increase the total yield.

We did not. I was trying the way Paul Gauchi (however you spell that name) from Back to Eden Documentary film grows his. We did okay, putting about 5 pounds or so of seed potatoes and harvest probably 10-12 pounds, but that is not what we are looking for in the future. Live and learn.

You are learning by experience. That is the best teacher. We like the little taters too. Much more flavour. We use them in soups and stews. We also cook them up, cut them in half and then fry them up with bacon, onions and peppers and serve them with eggs for breakfast.

Potato Famine here in central IL, at least for me. Even though we have had very little rain I could have watered more. Because I didn't my cinder block potato patch didn't give me much. Here is a shot of what I did get. I plan on creating a post on Steemit probably tomorrow talking about the cinder block experiment. I finally decided to jump in and create some of my own content and the experiment will be the first post, outside of the into one.

Homesteading when you haven't grown up doing all these things can be a daunting and sometimes heartbreaking task. It is hard to put in a lot of work and planning only to find out months later it didn't work. Keep it up, and I look forward to viewing your post about the cinder block potato patch.

Very much agree! When I grew up there was no garden, only 3 blueberry bushes. When I got my own home and was more concerned about where my food from is when I really started to look into the homesteading life. Once you starting doing it you can really appreciate where and how your food gets to your table!

My family usually had some kind of garden, usually just for fun. We never canned much. My grandparents always had a one acre garden but they were nearly 5 hours away. I have to say I feel I have had more failures than successes, and at times has knocked me down for months, but I eventually get up, learn from my mistakes and move forward... and figure out what new mistake I can learn from. LOL!!!

@myhomesteaded my grandparents had a garden too, for me only about an hour away out in the country. I would bet that most grandparents had gardens as it was more popular to grow most of your food as possible. It was nice to visit and eat right out of the garden, nice and fresh! As long as we learn from our failures and don't give up.

I also finally put up my first post, please check it out!
https://steemit.com/gardening/@simms50/cinder-block-potatoes

Potatoes are used in all types of foods, whichever one we choose, we can not be wrong

We certainly like potatoes. And when they are grown in rich soil, they are very nutrient dense foods.

We have had years where the potatoes were small but still good. Probably next year will be good for you. Wishing you the best.

This year has been the hardest for me as far as gardening. I am glad my food doesn't depend strictly on me producing it (for now). I am grateful for my work, and what food me and my family do have.

In our area of NE Alabama no one I know had much of a garden this year.

Wow. Just southwest of you guys my hometown got nearly 5 feet of rain in 5 days. We just got some rain today for the first time since June.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51