Gaining Experiential Capital

in #homesteading6 years ago

20180527_215613.jpg

Look at the color patern on this log, it reminds me of a wild horse!

We had a CRAZY weekend, moving from Brooklyn to No Man's Land Extravaganza...

Because we live life a little on the cheap side, we didn't want to have a rental truck for too many days. So we hustled hard!!!

We packed our house, loaded the truck with only the help of a couple friends (here and there through the day), four flights of stairs.


Now the Real fun can begin!

For my wife (me too, a little) it's about having a new space to decorate and unpack into!

For our little human, it's about RE-WILDING... or maybe it's about continuing to be wild in order not to lose it, you know, through Human Domestication!

For me, well, it's about finally being out here in the woods and learning a whole new set of skills. Though I have one more week of work before coming back to No Man's Land full time, I am happy as can be (rain or shine...and we've had a RAINY weekend).


In a previous post about preparing for our move Off-Grid, I mentioned something about The 8 Forms of Capital. This weekend, I stocked up on EXPERIENTIAL CAPITAL! I had my share of choping wood. I'm not affraid to say I don't have all that much experience with the axe! There hasn't been too many times where chopping wood was necessary in Brooklyn! If we didn't break palettes apart for a small illegal bonfire, we'de just buy fire wood.

I can still count my hours of chopping wood on one hand!

20180526_185337.jpg

That was just the beginning....

20180526_185356.jpg

The fire we never lit! During a short stunt without rain, I kept chopping.

But as time goes on, like they say: practice makes perfect! And next I'll have to learn how to stack fire wood properly...

20180527_083305.jpg

The previous owners left me nice little stacks (sometimes piles!) of logs from having cut down some trees, half a decade ago... Now we have to collect it all to save what's left of them. We have enough wood for years. They turned Natural Capital into Material Capital for us to use, thanks!

20180526_190311.jpg

Here's another fire (our DiY BBQ) that wouldn't start. Figured it was because they were moist to the core from being uncovered for so mamy years


Well there it is, we made it to our future Homestead. Even though we're doing one more week in the big city, to clean up the apartment and work a little more, we are happy as can be!

20180526_185902.jpgProof-of-me

The pages turn... It's a new chapter in our book!!!

Steem line 2.png

If you really want to know what is inside this Coconut, take a look at Humans Of Steemit.

QUOTE OF THE MONTH @senorcoconut
In the End, it Always works out
(If you want a quote of yours posted here for a month please tell me)

AS ALWAYS... THANK YOU FOR LOOKING, YOUR SUPPORT IS GREATLY APPRECIATED.
Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Reply. Your comments are very welcome! Don't forget… #DreamsComeTrue!

Sort:  

This post has been featured in the @offgrid-online Weekly Curation #5. Thank you for sharing the skills you are aquiring for offgrid living :)

Thank you so much for having me on the again!!!! Made my day. And I'll keep posting what I learn for sure.

Awesome to see you guys made it there, hopefully with no mishaps. 😀
Kids are good for chopping wood... well mine are!😉😆

I guess he could start learning with me, he's almost 4! 😂 but yea seriously, as soon as he can swing an axe with respect... he will make a great wood chopping asset.

Congratulations on getting there. I am sure you all will love it. As for chopping wood it does get easier. Just pase yourself;)

Thanks for the encouragement @bowentroyer, We've loved it since we thought about it, now everyday I spend their I love it a little bit more!

The hardest part of it when we were not living on the property full time was leaving it!

Enjoy your journey! Splitting wood in the spring is getting out ahead of it. We used to go through about 5 cords a year. We haven’t burned wood for heat for quite a few years now.

Wow... 5 cords a year! Ok, I think we can do that. We aren't sure if we're going to put a wood burning stove in the RV or not. I know many people in Britain whith them inside their caravans, trucks and vans, but we have a bit of a longer winter... we'll have to see

I would love to live off grid one day, bet life would be calm ☺. I envy where you live, surrounded by nature. Lovely. Thank you.

We have got almost the same DIY (grill). We do it on the camping.

It was our very first grill last year when we camped with a few people. If living in nature is what you want, you should chase that dream and it will happen! Whatever you are passionate about, you can chose to live yohr passion...

Thank you

I wish you luck my friend :). Don't worry about chopping wood, you will fall in love with doing that. Love the barbecue, it looks proper wild :D!

Lol, thank so much!! It's a good BBQ, I wanted to built it higher but people were getting impatient to cook!

I already like chopping wood... something zen about it!

Congrats friend. Good luck. I bet this will be your hardest week in the city now that you are this close!

I think you're right....and on top of it we're filming in the woods!!! Makes it feel even more like I'm missing out.

20180529_130007.jpg

But I am taking the oportunity to learn my trees! Turns out Black locust and Sassafras (we have lots of that) make good fence posts... very resilient to contact with soil! Farmers in my region used to do that.

Good luck on your journey. It's great to be in nature. You'll probably get the hang of chopping wood soon. Cheers.

Thank you, the journey has been hard but it's fun. Can't wait to see what we'll have done in a few years from now...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SenorCoconut from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92