You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FARMER OR HOMESTEADER - SOME THOUGHTS FROM PAPA

in #homesteading7 years ago

Totally valid points and good on you for actually being resourceful enough to make that work. I think a lot of people get caught up in the grind and focussing on money and status without first seeing how productive they can be with their own hands.

I also agree from the animal side of things. In the UK we have more controls over what our animals are allowed to be fed regarding supplements but it's still not perfect by any stretch of the imagination.

That and the fact that we as humans consume more meat than we need or should...I'm not a vegetarian, I don't believe in giving myself such a label, but I don't eat meat so much, I live largely on a vegetable diet, sometimes I have chicken or fish, and rarely I have some red meat.

In England we usually call them allotments by the way...I'd love to have one myself! I've just spent some time in Greece and among other things, designed and built some raised beds.

Finished.jpg

Buuuut, they weren't for me! :(

Sort:  

Interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Same to you for sharing your experiences, it's really interesting to see. You also inspired me to write this just now, with your how tos - https://steemit.com/howto/@sammarkjames/2017-or-how-to-build-a-frame-picnic-benches

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36