You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Blog is an Inspirational Gem~ @bobydimitrov & @bghandmade My Entry to Qurator Membership Contest by @mountainjewel

in #homesteading7 years ago

What a beautiful post! So much love from all of you @schoonercreek, @bobydimitrov and @bghandmade! I do love the approach to gardening using bermuda grass which many gardeners consider a pain in the butt, as a beautiful asset and ally :) I also love dock leaves in my stir fries, curries and chilis. What a jaw dropping view!!

Sort:  

I agree- @bobydimitrov and @bghandmade seem to have such a positive attitude about gardening and about life, and it's contagious! I especially love their photo of the view with the woman harvesting something from the field, I wonder what she was picking there?

Thanks for reading! Im glad you liked the post!

Haha, oh you guys are making me blush (us! shouts the wife from the table)!

@schoonercreek, on that photo is Gerry, collecting fairy ring mushrooms (wikipedia tells me another name is "Scotch bonnet", Marasmius oreades). It's for a traditional Easter lamb recipe that Gerry says wrote you about! What's interesting is those mushrooms usually grow were there's also wild thyme, which wonderfully complements the flavor of the whole dish!

Sometimes I wonder if the people from times long past knew much more than we do...

Yes, that sounds wonderful. We have fairy ring mushrooms here too! i will have to ask my husband if the species name is the same. The dish does sound tasty! And yes I do think ancestors had a vast knowledge of these things and it is time for us to tap into the ancestral memory and keep the knowledge alive!

I've been instructed to add a photo of said gathered mushrooms!

(it also features a field mushroom - Agaricus campestris)

Oh!!! okay!! Nice! That is helpful.. Going to show my husband now. Those are beautiful.. haha I think mushrooms could "save the world"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67