You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rendering Tallow from Sheep Fat for Sustainable Cooking Fat, Candles, Soap Leather Conditioning and More!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

The lard or tallow (depending on the animal) is the rendered fat. So you would want to ask the butcher for fat, not the lard. I would be surprised if they don't have any extra fat but if not, try another butcher or call some local ranches/farms that sell meat and I bet you can get some good deals. When you compare the cost of fat / lb to lard / lb it's a great deal to render your own. I got mine from doing work trade, I was helping this homestead with skinning and eviscerating their animals, and so I was able to glean the intestinal fat, organ meat and other parts that no one else wanted and would have just been discarded. In the case of the pork, I traded some lamb meat for pork fat from my homesteader friend that raised some pigs -- two of their customers bought a whole half pig but their other customers bought individual pieces and didn't want fat so they had extra to trade.

Sort:  

Again super great report @sagescrub. Thank you so mich for sharing. I think I did actually ask for lard, not fat that I could render... I will try again.

Good luck finding that fat!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45