You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rendering Tallow from Sheep Fat for Sustainable Cooking Fat, Candles, Soap Leather Conditioning and More!

Hey @sagescrub. I wated to buy lard last time at the butcher after seeing your other post. Sadly he could not provide any. Where do you get yours from? Do I understand right, that it comes from your sheep?

Sort:  

The best way is to help a person that is butchering animals, and to get some of the fat in exchange or thanks for your assistance. Why pay when you can get for free. ...obviously this will mean networking, getting to know healthy farmers nearby and doing some volunteer work. Good luck!

This is a great way to see this @em3. I should keep my eyes and ears open. I was wondering, if @sagescrub is butchering his sheep.

The lard or tallow (depending on the animal) is the rendered fat. So you would want to ask the butcher for fat, not the lard. I would be surprised if they don't have any extra fat but if not, try another butcher or call some local ranches/farms that sell meat and I bet you can get some good deals. When you compare the cost of fat / lb to lard / lb it's a great deal to render your own. I got mine from doing work trade, I was helping this homestead with skinning and eviscerating their animals, and so I was able to glean the intestinal fat, organ meat and other parts that no one else wanted and would have just been discarded. In the case of the pork, I traded some lamb meat for pork fat from my homesteader friend that raised some pigs -- two of their customers bought a whole half pig but their other customers bought individual pieces and didn't want fat so they had extra to trade.

Again super great report @sagescrub. Thank you so mich for sharing. I think I did actually ask for lard, not fat that I could render... I will try again.

Good luck finding that fat!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54