You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Decorating and Chicken Hospitals

in #homesteading6 years ago

Gosh, your girls really are in the wars!!

Not laughing at colloidal silver - I've heard good things. I also put garlic and ACV in their drinking water, which seems to work at treat, and if i feed them a mash once in a while (especially in winter) I put a fair bit of chopped garlic in there.

We had two birds die in quick succession with this new flock - awaiting the guy to drop some more off. Sometimes I think they're more trouble than they are work. I wrote about chooks today - and @goldenoakfarm also wrote a good one this week. Chooktastic!

Sort:  

I do ACV in their water, but not every time. I've never really tried garlic properly, just on occasions, because we love it so much ourselves I'm loath to share! We had a really good harvest last year, though, so I probably ought to try it.

Way to distract me with a temptation to chook articles to look at when I should be getting jobs done! ;D

Ah Ah always chookies...

Yeah we had good harvest but aren't eating it much as Jamie discovered he can't tolerate it. Gutted. Might not plant as much next year.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lisa of Fresh Eggs Daily swears by garlic cloves in the water and powdered garlic sprinkled on the feed, in a mix of other supplements. I've never done it in the water, and did try the powder for a year in the mix. I've not gotten back to it, as it was pricy to do. But the chicks and broilers and hens did very well that year.

Garlic is anti fungal, etc and with all the problems showing up, it might be worth a try.

Awesome.. I've always had healthy chooks and I'm sure it's down to garlic in water!!! As I grow own chopping or blending into a mash (i get eggshells and wizz with garlic ACV turmeric water.. add this to oats/seeds) it's easy and cheap and chooks love it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64029.44
ETH 2756.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65