My Homemade Paint Experiment: The Results Are In

in #homesteading6 years ago

I posted a "recipe" for flour-based homemade paint a couple of days ago and I used it to cover some shutters some idiot painted red. It took two coats (and it naturally rained between coats yesterday) but the results came out pretty good- in fact you can't really tell the difference between it and store-bought. It dried a little darker than I had hoped, but overall I'm pretty satisfied with the result...

For my next magic act, I'm going to try to make some stain/weatherproofer for the privacy fence!

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

Ahaha some idiot painted it red wonder who that was eh Rich.

Some Mexican guy the Turnip hired... we told him to stain the shutters to match the front storm door so he painted them both red! I stripped the door, but the shutters are rough-hewn and it absorbs the paint, so I painted them gray

that looks like paint to me, were the ingredients actually cheaper than buying paint?

I'll have to reserve judgement until I see how long it lasts. Also I had some of the stuff... all I had to buy was the pigment and iron sulfate. I figure I got about 3 gals (give or take) and decent quality outdoor paint is around $25 per gal- and that's the low end. So we'll have to see.

BLO is pretty good stuff as long as it dries in it should last a while.

I always liked it because it brings the grain out in the wood- I used it to refinish the screen door in the front- after the idiot painted it red!

red doors sell houses ;) I use BLO on old commie gun stocks.

Looks a good work, dear friend! I like your shutter! I have to paint my shutters too, but my shatters are not so nice like yours ;)

I used my homemade paint, I'm happy with how they came out!

Wow it looks great, Rich! Who would've thought...It turned out really well. good on you :)

Thanks! When I do the fence I'm going to have to hire someone to paint. Doing the shutters darn near killed me! I had to take today off lol.

Oww be careful <3 And take care of yourself!

It's beginning to occur to me- I'm way too old for that shit!!!

@richq11 You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots.

It looks amazing. Way to go!

Thanks! It actually came out looking like real paint, I'm pretty happy with it... when I do the fence, I'm going to have to hire somebody to do the painting.

Looks good @richq11. I got a kick reading some of your comments. 🐓🐓

Well thank you... Nice to see that someone appreciates my humor.

The painting materials are so good. You are happy now. After all really amazing photoshoot.

It is looking beautiful. Good painting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47