A Few Thoughts on Tinker's Bubble...

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: A Few Thoughts on Tinker's Bubble...


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

So interesting to see more and more of these communities growing across the world! I agree with your thought that although a great prospect, I couldn’t do it for an extended period of time.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have to respect their commitment and I love the beautiful dwellings, but living there isn't for me either!

Posted using Partiko Android

In our country there are also such settlements. We call them "Old Believers." In recent years, more and more people are interested in healthy lifestyle, environmentally friendly ways of managing, surviving in extreme conditions, the ability to live in harmony with nature, spiritual improvement.

I like that - 'old believers', it's got a nice ring to it!

I feel that these types of folk are some of the smartest types of humans out there. Self-dependence and living with nature are high forms of intelligence to me. Technology doesn't always mean better. Thanks for the introduction to this community.

Okay that was a long coffee, but after a re-read, I don't know why I thought there was a video.... I checked out your article on Lammas too.

So, I have so much to say on this. First would be, I'm very glad you are exploring this and taking it with honest reflection. So many conversations in the 'sustainability' space are made with certain assumptions or ignoring others. Most of what get's ignored is immense heaps of work (fixing unemployment anyone?)

I have so many thoughts from my six years 'becoming' a subsistence farmer in Colombia, about how we can truly approach sustainability. I have started several chapters already. I look forward to discussing many of these points with you in the future.

At this point, I think it will be sufficient to say that a range of solutions being implemented is promising, but likely no 'extreme' will be extremely widespread without extreme conditions. Choosing not to use fossil fuels is fine, but while they are available it is unlikely to be a mainstream choice, and personally I think there are probably more important things to focus on.

I love this type of content from you, and it will always receive my upvote if I see it!

Hey thanks for the comment - I did link to a YouTube video where some of the Bubblers discuss their fossil free approach - a guy called Pedro is the most interesting.

Ironically I abandoned the idea of self building my own house and growing my own food because it's just cheaper to buy a regular house here in the UK.. one can still do one's bit however!

Where fossil fuels are concerned it might actually be more rational to use them to build high tech passive 1000 year homes rather than hobbit houses? Not sure, it's something I've yet to explore.

This is indeed interesting, and you put two sides of the coin across very well Carl.

I've gotta say one thing about them though, they're commited to the ethos to which they prescribe, much more so than many people. It is quite extreme though. While I was reading the end section I kept thinking, why aren't they using more renewable energy sources to make life easier. Ditch all fossil fuels I'm on board with, but living in the cold in winter seems a bit mad if it's possible to stock pile energy. Which is doable these days. if you produce excess solar/wind/hydro during one part of the year, you can feed it into the national Grid then claim it back when needed. I'm not sure of the details about this but I know such a thing is possible.

One of my old friends sisters lives in a similar freegan community somewhere down south. I haven't seen her in over 10 years but I know they live completely sustainably. I'm not sure if they're as strict as tinker's bubble though.

he shouldn’t have to pay tax on the basis that to do so compromises his right to live a radically sustainable lifestyle, given that to pay tax is to pay the government to pollute more than he does!

Ha ha, I have to agree with him on that. What services are the government providing him with? I suppose the right not to be thrown in jail for showing that there is an alternative to the system. Don't get me wrong, I can see it's a bloody hard time following that alternative, but these people do show that it's possible if you're prepared to make a lot of sacrifices.

Cheers for another interesting read m8

Posted using Partiko Android

they certainly are committed!

I wonder where that other Freegan community is, there really aren't that many in the UK! Devon/ Somerset - quite a big focus for them though.

I'm always surprised more people haven't heard of these alternative communities!

This one's a bit too extreme for me TBH. As you say, a bit of tech compromise these days would make it (1) more appealing and (2) just easier!

I guess I always worry about what is going to happen when I am old and/or sick. It would be okay if they practised (painless) senilicide like the hunter gatherers you wrote about recently (who seem to have a way better life, the invention of the plough has a lot to answer for). I don't think that's allowed here, though?

It's a valid point, what happens when they get old, no pensions i'm aware of, let alone consideration of health care. It'd be an interesting one to probe deeper.

100% sure they don't do a 'Logan's Run' on their old!

including this in tomorrows digest. super cool.

Hey cool, thanks!

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.73% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

cool..... peaceful.... relaxing... beautiful photography.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @revisesociology!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.626 which ranks you at #1747 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 1752).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47