Pumpkin: Are You Ready For Holidays?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I am sure all of you are familiar with pumpkin :) especially when Halloween is almost here. Taking into account that people are just getting crazy on Halloween and Thanksgiving, almost every family considers it as their obligation to have a pumpkin (of any kind) at their home. It is an old tradition and if you live in a country where people are celebrating Halloween, you must know how much money you spend every year on these holidays. Therefore, if you are lucky and have your own farm, this problem is solved for you automatically.
On the other hand, Halloween is not the only purpose of pumpkins, they can be used for cooking and trust me there are more than enough of tasty pumpkin recipes. It just depends where do you live geographically, pumpkin is known all around the world, but every country has its own pumpkin cooking traditions. I would be eager to know what is your favorite pumpkin recipe?

Personally I don't grow pumpkins in my homestead, but I am lucky enough to have my parents who love this vegetable. Here are some photos from their farm. WHich one do you think I should pick for Halloween?

Last one seems to be the best choice :)

Sort:  

Good for health.Good post.resteemd and upvote.if you like me than follow me

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 6.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @raybrewer
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @raybrewer to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

When my kids were little and still at home, I grew pumpkins for them to carve. But now, I would grow them for the roasting of the seeds!
SO delicious!

Yea, pumpkin is so versatile. You can cook pretty much everything: shell, seeds and leafs. If I am not mistaken even a flower is edible.

nice post

Haha nice mate.. I saw these in our shops in South Africa two days ago.. and we don't even celebrate halloween, well sort of. Cheer$:)

thumbnail_20171016_160226.jpg

Globalization is everywhere :))

Here is a tip...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60950.68
ETH 2607.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65