Cobb: Earthen Building Workshop In My Handmade SteemGear!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Greetings!



Earthen building has been around for thousands of years, and all the oldest buildings in the world are made of earth. 



The oldest buildings in the world are of course made from stone (which I got so much first hand exposure to while traveling in Portugal and Spain this last month and have hundreds of photos of to share), but there are other types of earthen building, cobb being one of my favorite.



I have a lot of experience in earthen building of many different types; all have their positives and negatives. Here I am focusing specifically on cobb. 



I get into it quite extensively in this video, so I am not going to spend an hour typing everything I cover in it. 

However, some of the highlights of cobb are:

  1. Super Sustainable.
  2. Materials available almost anywhere.
  3. Very versatile - can build houses, stoves, walls and so much more. 
  4. High quality, long lasting results.
  5. Very simple.
  6. Requires almost no tools. 
  7. Can be done without money. 
  8. Time tested results, as it has been done for thousands of years. 



So please watch this video, as it is a thorough education on the basics of what cobb is, how to use it, and more!




I am, as you can see, decked out in my handmade SteemGear, handmade knives, and handmade jewelry. All of these are available at www.intothegardenofeden.com, and because I love and support Steem so much I also make them all available for $teem to anyone who prefers. 



I have been making sustainable hand made SteemGear for over a year now and have made more Steem/Steemit items than anyone I am aware of in the world. I have more listings on PeerHub (the first "Steemit shop" ever made, which makes real world items listed available for $teem) than anyone else as well. 



I have written extensively many times about how to increase the value of $teem, how to create a real world market/economy for $teem, and what I am doing every day to help achieve that for us all! 



I love life and am dedicated to creating a better world for all creatures, not just human consumption and wealth. Nature provides everything we need and is a fined tuned ecosystem which is being destroyed daily. I hope you join me in upgraded care for the whole balance of life itself~(~



I am now doing 50/50 payout posts simply because the SBD is so insanely high at the moment, but I will be converting it all to $teem and powering up of course!



I appreciate your support and am grateful to be here on Steemit. I welcome any feedback you have to offer as well as an upvote!

SteemOn!


Sort:  

Awesome work! the future is deinfately permaculture type techniques combined with decentralised blockchains to guide us away from corruption. Have you seen "primitive technology" on you tube? I could not stop watching his videos. hope you find them interested. here is one of my favourites:

Such a great example of what can be done with mother nature!!! One day I will build my own abode and enjoy nature's gift of raw materials to do it. Thanks for sharing @starkerz.

@starkerz very interesting to see this type of construction. Primitive construction that definitely help people to survive. thanks for sharing this video. @gold84

Yes this is not cobb but it is an example of earthen building. It can also be done in VERY BEAUTIFUL and glorious ways as well!

My dream is to build an earth ship. But I have now been inspired to work this type of building structure into the design! Cool as!

Yes earthships are great but cobb is more sustainable and you can do a LOT more with they style, shape, design, etc than an earthship.

Love to inspire. Blessings on the way brother~*~

I love cobb soooo much! It is such a versatile, natural and abundant material....durable, fireproof, and beautiful too!!!

Your Steemit gear, handmade jewelry and knives, are of course epic -- and you really take them to another level by donning them!!!

Grateful to be a part of the change!!!

Ah nice little tut on Cobb, I found it quite interesting actually (having almost know actual knowledge of it prior).

I also really dug the part of your argument: "the waste product is basically it turning back into the ground" pretty awesome. Indeed, many people probably do not even consider that products exist in this day and age that do not produce harmful waste. I guess the other issue is what's easily available in our respective communities/societies.

Lot's of us r programmed to throw everything out and many products are often designed to be thrown out so you can spend more $ buying a new one.

"Back in the day a snow shovel lasted a life time. Now you're doing well if you get 3 years outta it." ;)

BTW checkout out your online store, shudang those knives are beauts my friend!

"The pattern in the damascus is due to the folding of layers of different steel"

...so are you able to fold it in particular ways to create specific patterns, or is it more of random, natural type outcome that's distinctive every time?

Yes there are so many wonderful aspects of cobb even this informative video is no where close to enough to explore the uses.

Yet it is simple enough to in a short amount of time educate people on the basic concepts, uses and how to so that they are able to begin finding ways to utilize it in their own life.

There are many facets of this modern world that are unsustainable and insane. The disposable culture is one of them.

Yet the solutions are here and cobb is one of them.

As for the damascus yes it is from layers of metal and shows up in the use of acids and or fine polish. There are many different ways to do folded steel but anytime steel is folded by hand there is going to be some variance to the "desired attempted pattern".

Thanks for stopping by, checking it out and engaging!

SteemOn!

Ya man, now that i think about it... I have actually seen this one video of a guy building entire... wilderness ummmm "Shack" i guess i'd call it with a similar type stove that would be used to heat it.

I'm not sure he used Cobb tho... I think it was mostly mud and sticks... I'd have to go back and find the video to verify that. In any case it was pretty neat !

Yea I have seen a lot of stuff like that. Its probably not 'cobb" but its similar concept.

beautiful! great to see this happen.. ive tried a few.. some more successful than others.. godda get those proportions right,!

Yes, at first its difficult to make a good enough mixture to be worth making a house out of but again as I said you can start by making an oven or stove of which is a fun and valuable education which pays off!

Then once you get good you can build something bigger and more important!

Its one of the most valuable earth skills I have IMO.

You really rock the vintage crypto wear, Quinn! 💥

man as if this is Uganda Africa

Thats right!

Ancient tried and true!

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

My life is steemit promo!

What's up Steemians ?? If you post a new post , comment @originalworks or !originalworks to receive a 1.5% upvote by n bot if your content is original .

tenor (3).gif

Keep Calm And Steem On :)

Please Follow , Resteem , Upvote or Comment - @jacoknoetze

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @quinneaker to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32