Rejuvelac! Have you ever heard of it?

in #homesteading6 years ago

Rejuvelac! Have you ever heard of it? I hadn’t until 3 weeks ago.

Rejuvelac is considered a "wild fermentation" drink because the grain sprouting process produces active enzymes in the cultured water which helps it become a super sprout drink. You would never have convinced me that water sitting around for a couple of days with sprouted grains in it would taste good, before now, but the fermentation process actually produces a clean, light citrus tasting drink.


You will need a Quart or 1/2 Gallon jar
A mesh lid or Ring and some cheese cloth
Grain (I used wheat berries)

DIRECTIONS FOR SPROUTING GRAINS:
Take ½ Cup of dry grain and rinse it thoroughly in clean pure water.

Soak it overnight, or about 8 hours, in a one-quart mason jar with a loose lid. I used cheese cloth on top.

Place a clean mesh lid on the top of the jar and strain out the soak water. I used cheese cloth on top.

Fill the jar again with filtered water, stir and strain again.

Flip the jar over, with the mesh lid (or cloth with a rubber band) angled downward, into a dish to drain.

Rinse your jar of grains once or twice a day.

Watch for little sprouting white hairs after day one (tails), it usually takes between 1-3 days depending on the room temperature and grain variety.

Place sprouted grain in a large jar with a top that allows air to circulate. Add 4 cups of water and let it sit on the counter for 2 to 3 days. You will notice that the water will get cloudy and little bubbles will start to form.

Taste what you have so far—it should taste clean, fresh, and slightly citrusy. Strain the rejuvelac liquid and store it in the refrigerator in a covered glass container. It will last about a week, and you can reuse the wheat berries to make a second batch.

SOME REJUVELAC BENEFITS :

  • Introduces friendly lacto-bacteria into the gastrointestinal tract
  • Encourages regular bowel movements
  • Helps to remove toxins and excess undigested waste material
  • Is a rich source of lactobacillus acidophilus. This is the good bacteria usually found in miso, yogurt, tempeh, kimchi, sauerkraut, kefir and other fermented foods. Probiotics like acidophilus are what crowd out harmful pathogens that cause problems like inflammation.
  • Vitamins A, B, C, and E are present in Rejuvelac as well as other essential nutrients like proteins, carbohydrates, and phosphates. All these nutrients basically boosts the immune system and makes the body healthier overall.
  • Regular consumption of rejuvelac is also said to help lessen any inflammatory processes that occur in some parts of the body

PRSONAL NOTES:

  • You can make two batches from a single round of sprouts, and they'll each taste a little different. Just add new water back and only wait 24 hours. The second batch needs to be drank soon, it seemed to sour a little bit faster. You may enjoy that taste.
  • If you don't want to eat the spent sprouts, feed to your fowl or add to compost
    Wheat berries, rye, and quinoa make for the best rejuvelac, but you can also use lentils, buckwheat, or any other type of grain. I have made 4 batches and used Soft Wheat Berries each time.
  • Make sure all your equipment is thoroughly clean and sanitary to avoid spoilage.
    Rejuvelac is sometimes used as a liquid culture starter for other fermented foods, like nut or seed cheeses.

Enjoy,
Kimberly

All images are my own point and clicks.

Sort:  

Oh wow, this is news to me! I just finished a batch of broccoli sprouts. I'll have to try this next time I sprout some grains. Thanks for sharing!

I was hesitant, but it was such a quick and easy recipe to try, I couldn't say no. My husband even approves. We have made 4 batches so far. We usually drink the quart jar in a couple of days or it begins to have a different flavor :) I hope you enjoy it.

I have my own rejuvelac in the fridge. But I made it to make fermented vegan cheeses ... I wouldn't have thought about drinking it. But that's great to know! So I can use my rejuvelac your way when I don't find time to make cheese ... Fantastic!

YYYAAAASSSS! I had that in my notes because the girl who taught me uses hers for vegan cheese also. I haven't ventured that far yet, but I will be trying it soon enough. I will take any suggestions you have on making the cheese part :) Thank you so much for the 'tip', and I am tickled to death I could share something you learned from. I appreciate you reading my post.

Ok, sure! With pleasure! Please remind me to give you some hints to the vegan cheese thing...

Yes, I will holler back when I am ready!

great advice and good health benefits, sharing on twitter

Your post has been featured in issue #2 of the MAKE IT HEALTHY PROJECT MAGAZINE. Feel free to tag any good-health related posts with #makeithealthy, where they will be upvoted, re-steemed and may just inspire some good health choices within the community too! All the best to you!

I am ever so grateful for the feature! There are so many amazing posts shared in issue 2. I cannot wait to have visited them all. Thank you!

No problem at all @qberryfarms, I'm delighted to have such an enthusiastic response to the magazine, because you're absolutely right, there are ever so many amazing posts from all across the community! I wish you a enjoyable time browsing through them all! :-)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 13:11:37
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 20.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Sometimes I make this but mine ends up tasting a little cheesy haha. One day I will get it right!

I guess I am lucky! I have made 4 batches and they have been really good. Lite citrus, mild nutty taste. My first batches I made in a quart jar and there were tails in 36 hours and I started the fermentation on the counter then. I only waited 2 days and the water was cloudy so we started drinking then. You will get it! I would definitely try again if I were you. Thanks for stopping by and reading my post.

Hi @qberryfarms! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @pusteblume!

@pusteblume wrote lately about: Fruitsandveggiesmonday ~ Wastefree Weekend Food Shopping Feel free to follow @pusteblume if you like it :)

I love quinoa, can't do wheat, so I'd try making it with the quinoa. Very interesting post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87