I received the prize I won from @goldendawne!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Thank you @goldendawne !
Also, it must have been fate since I received your prize on the same day I was mailing the Steemian Carousel Seedbox to you.

I've included a little prize I think you may like that wasn't reported in my post.

IMG_20180227_093131.jpg

Here are the details I just received from my great aunt on the heirloom seeds I put into the #seedbox2

"Clovis" beans: they are a delicious green bean that cannot be purchased in seed stores or catalogs as far as I know.
the seed was given to me probably 20 years ago by a lady who worked in Doug (and Mike Turman's) office - her name is
Carol Vest. She said they were given to her several years before she gave them to me. A lady by the name of "CLOVIS"
gave them to her and that Clovis' grandmother had given them to her many years before that. SO, who knows where
they came from or how old the seed is. I just know that I have given many of the seeds to cousins and friends over the years.
So I tell everyone I give them to that I only have a few to give for them to plant and then THEY have to save the seeds for future
years so to take good care of them. (I let my pods get yellow and then I bring them in and shell the beans out. I put these on
paper towels on a table so they will dry completely and then I store them in glass jars in the freezer until next year. You can
plant them frozen and they will come up just like seed beans.) (I can these in a Pressure Cooker.)

"Cut-Short"
Beans: These are short green beans with a stipped bean inside (brown & white). They are really good to eat and some people can them
but I don't usually can them anymore because I use mostly the clovis beans to can. These seeds were given to me by one
of Mom's 1st cousins (Willodean Lyons Lindsay) who lives in Newbern, VA. They were given to her by
Demi Simpkins (who is Mom's 1st cousin also) and he had got the seeds from Velma Turman (Mike Turman's aunt)
and I understood from Willodean and other people that this is a very old bean seed and can't be bought in stores or by
catalog. (I dry and store these seed the same way as listed above for the "Clovis" beans.

October Beans:
These are a very large shell bean and they are delicious too. I also can these in a Pressure Cooker as soon as I shell them
out. You have to let the pods turn from green w/ red stripes TO White w/ Red stripes. If you open one up, it will have a white
bean w/ red stripes in it. DO NOT PICK until they are ripe or they will not be good.

This is a very old bean seed too that cannot be bought in stores or catalogs. They were given to me by one of Mom's 1st cousins
(Charles Gallimore) and I don't know where he had got them but he had been growing them for a very long time when he gave
me the start of them. (I dry and store them the same way as the ones above.)

You can buy dried beans in some stores that are called CRANBERRY beans and they are a small version of this bean or you
can buy October beans in seed stores BUT they are not large like this one.

Sort:  

Oh I am so happy you got your winning and prize in the mail! The PO sure was quick with the delivery!

Looking forward to some posts in the future after they all start to grow!

Oh yeah, they'll be coming up in the greenhouse soon! Thanks.

You must be happy for winning this and why wouldn't you be ! You clearly have very old seeds which are not easy to find on the market. I would like to see the result after you decide to grow them since I'm sure what comes out will be something really delicious = )

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Thanks you. Yes, we are excited.
Those old seed make some great veggies! We love them and sharing the story. Thanks for your kind words.

How fantastic!! Have fun growing:)

Yes. And, we will for sure. Thanks!

Seed mail is my favorite kind of mail!!

Yes, my second package full of seeds since joining Steemit a month ago.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58047.91
ETH 2348.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37