You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Homemade Cat Food--Save Money AND Make Your Cat Happy!

in #homesteading6 years ago

Fancy Feast is cheap compared to what I am feeding right now! The thing is, Yuan is allergic to poultry and fish. So that limits what I can feed him at all! I think I looked at that site before when I was trying to get them to try raw foods (Maggie will eat Rad Cat brand raw turkey formula, nothing else. Yuan will eat the freeze dried pellets IF THEY'RE STILL PELLETS but if you reconstitute them in water, you have ruined it as far as he is concerned), so I never went as far as making it myself.
Currently Yuan's kibble is venison, and his wet is rabbit and pork (pork is unusual in cat food, I know, but I think it's to balance the rabbit because rabbit is too lean otherwise; it's how it comes in the can).

Sort:  

Oh my, a kitty allergic to poultry and fish! :( I don't think I've ever seen pork in any cat food, now that you mention it, but I never looked at the more specialty kinds. I'm kind of giggling over Yuan only wanting to eat the pellets in pellet form. It's like Teddy and the liver. I ruined an entire batch finding out that he won't eat it.

Where do you get venison cat kibble? That's intriguing. Does Maggie eat it too or does she get something different?

Yeah, he's very food motivated so for him to give something the cold shoulder means he REALLY doesn't like it!
The venison kibble is Natural Balance limited ingredient diet, and I get it at Petco. Maggie will eat it too but right now she is eating the other kibble I bought when I had figured out no poultry but not no fish too. 😂 So her kibble is salmon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85