You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building With Pallets: Is it safe?

in #homesteading6 years ago

Love all the detailed info in this post! We bought a bunch of pallets, pine I believe, a few yrs ago. Freshly made with no stamp. We were told they'd not been treated and I've no reason to doubt that as now they're getting some wood burrowing beetles (I think. Not termites but something clearly chewing a 1/4" hole.) The plans for these pallets were basically to make a pallet wall but possibly also outdoor furniture and trellises. I don't consider myself the absolute greenist of any sustainable minded person, but I feel completely comfortable with our pallets. I appreciate the effort put into this post because while there are differences of opinion in the sustainable community, I Know you guys are very conscientious and thorough so it's helpful for everyone to see your thought process and reasoning to help dispell any judgements that others might make not understanding these types of details. It's up to each of us to make the best decisions what we are comfortable doing. It's good for this information to be discussed then people can make up their own mind, such as you have. PS. If I ever do use our pallets for planters, I'll likely be using either as a facade or plastic lined as self watering planters. Many don't agree with using plastic, either, but I have reasons I'm comfortable with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63390.92
ETH 3093.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82