You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2018 Homesteading Goals

in #homesteading7 years ago

I'm not sure how I'm going to get any of them done but my 3 are

  1. Finish constructing the hugelkulture bed and planting areas
  2. Cut poison ivy vines, clear out invasives, plant native edible trees & shrubs along creek
  3. Cut down trees that are in the way & use them for more hugelkulture
Sort:  

Sounds like a great list! Now I have to add one more.... The darn invasive holy NEEDS to go!

I didn't know Holly is invasive! I was thinking of planting some American Holly for part of natural fence. Missouri Dept of conservation doesn't consider poison ivy invasive because it's native. Try telling that to my creek's trees! Who are being smothered.

I have to add one more to my list, too. We have water and poisonous hemlock. :O Glad I asked for ids this year. Such a toxic plant to us

It is invasive around here. And over the last few years I have noticed more and more of it all over our island. Here is a quick link.

http://www.ssisc.info/home/english_holly

I sure am glad that we don't have to worry about the poison ivy here!

Ah, I see. I was thinking of American Holly because it's native here. English Holly is nice, too, but not if it's crowding out natives.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50