The Green Grapes Experiment: End

in #homesteading5 years ago

Hello my Steemit friends,
After eight days, the layer that formed on top became moldy. Not just the grayish kind you see on this photo below but it was black.
IMG_20190618_151331.jpg
Both bottles had formed a scoby on top but there was that black mold above. I removed the scoby on one bottle but after two days there is nothing happening there so I discarded it. Same with the bottle that I kept the scoby on. The black mold grew even more. The cover on top was not properly sealed as a few ants managed to get it. I had to discard everything sad to say. Maybe I will try again next time using a different fruit that is easy to get, cheaper and abundant.

This ends my green grape experiment. There are some things I learned along the way. Although I could not yet conclude if these are correct because there is a lot of reference materials online but most of them seem to lack something like they do not provide some information about my questions in mind like the black mold. Some says skim it off others says do not stir and some says stir it daily. If I stir the mixture will it just mask the growing mold and mix in? Those kinds of questions.

I hope I can find more answers and useful materials soon as I still want to proceed with this kind of experiment. Thank you for dropping by
Gus

Sort:  

Congratulations @pastoragus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99