WHAT A HUGE BLESSING! - HUNDREDS OF FIG "TREES" ALL FOR FREE!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Stuff like this always amazes me!


Just the other day I happened to pass by my neighbors house. He was tidying up his place and pruning a lot of the plants that he has around his house... including his fig trees. There, on the ground beneath his trees was a huge pile of dormant fig branches that were still alive.

My first instinct was to head right over and see if he had any purpose for them. As it turns out, he had no intention of doing anything with them other than getting rid of them. Soon, I was given permission to collect all of them and then I went a little further and helped him clean up the rest of the debris.

INCREDIBLE POTENTIAL!

I ended up with a very large pile of fig branches on my trailer. Technically, I could probably propagate these into over 200 individual fig trees. Each of the little nodes on these dormant branches are created with the potential to either grow stems or roots. If they are underground when they "wake up" then they will grow roots. If the node is above ground though, it'll grow leaves or figs.

The white spots on the nodes in the photo above are the beginning of new roots on some fig trees that I previously propagated.

I am so blown away at the potential of situations like this. First off, these plants have such a "will to live" that they can grow entire new plants from branches that are broken or cut off. Being able to turn one single plant into hundreds more is incredible in my mind.

This is just one pile that I obtained the other day. It consists of many straight stems of the dormant fig tree. Since you only need to technically have one node below the surface and one node above the surface to get a new plant, each of these stems can be used to produce multiple more plants.

it doesn't really seem like just just cutting up a branch into a bunch of pieces would be the way to get more and more plants, but, with some kinds of plants like fig trees, this is all that you really need to do.

We have already started many of these in our time in Arkansas, and not only that, we have even already gotten a return on our investment. Can you believe that in less than a year one of the tiny fig trees that we propagated in a pot actually produced some figs for us to eat? We were amazed! I posted about that exciting event a while ago, but here is the video if anyone wants to check it out.

SUCH AN AMAZING BLESSING!

Although I have not even trimmed all of the cuttings, we pile that we have is huge. Not only that, but the blessing is huge too.

Part of why we have chosen the lifestyle that we have is to provide for the majority of our own needs and also to have potential home-based money making opportunities. Plants like these figs give us just that!

First off, food-bearing trees are part of providing for our own needs. The more of our own food that we can grow the less that we need to purchase. The less that we need to purchase, the less money we need. The less money we need the better the chance I have of making it from home.

If we plant these fig trees and get "too much" of a harvest, then we have the opportunity to bless others with free figs, use them for bartering, or even sell them to others. Since each fig tree can be used to produce more and more fig trees, plant propagation can be a great home based business as well.

When we basically get hundreds of fruit bearing trees for free, we have nothing to invest but our time and creativity. This also makes it easier to get a good return on your investment, because your investment wasn't that much.

If you've been watching my life for a while now, you must think that "this guy lucks out all of the time." Well, I don't believe in luck, but I'll agree that I certainly have been blessed on a very frequent basis.

Now, as long as I am faithful and diligent to make sure that these cuttings are set up for success, we should be off to a great start with some of our life goals! Also, in case anyone out there is wondering, these are a variety known as "Brown Turkey."

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-whole-lot-of-free-fig-trees



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

That is so awesome. Fresh figs are one of of my favorite fruits and also one of my favorite dried fruits. You are well on your way to a fig orchard. Luck is when preparation meets opportunity and you are well-prepared for luck and god’s blessings.

I lived in Crete for a few years...we had a fig tree over our front door.

BAD IDEA...figs fall from the tree..PLOP...sweet juicy fig juice everywhere...flies love it.
Don't plant a fig tree anywhere NEAR your house..

Got it! Thanks!

This is great. I love figs. You're lucky to have your own fruit. All the best.

Figs from a cutting in less than a year? Whaaat?
Tried this a few times with no success... Maybe the branches were too old.
I heard about a bullet proof method tho', never tried it tho'. It's called air-layering - google it if you're not familiar with it, interesting concept. One more bullet proof way to do it is by laying them down branches of live trees a little below the soil...
Anyways, I've given up on growing figs around here (continental climate), they're practically tasteless compared to the Medditerranean ones... Which have juice the consistency and the taste of honey dripping from them while they're still on the tree. Seriously, if you happen to visit this part of the world, you gotta try Dalmatian figs!

Watch out for fig wasps. They are not a pleasant surprise.

I'll watch out!

Oh wow..imagine having figs everyday when in season!

No kidding! How amazing will that be?

I imagine trays of figs outside the gate where people just leave money on the side.

Fig.uratively speaking, I'm constantly inspired by your deeply-rooted connection with nature.

Lets get some beef chunk and smoke em with those figs yea I can smell its aroma from here haha Lets spice up and sprinkle more herbs

That sounds great!

I like your good post!! Keep posting!

nice post, sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64