THE RESCUE OF THE RENEGADE ROOSTER

in #homesteading7 years ago

We had one chance, or he was soup...


Not all of our animals are down on our land right now. We are using some of the neighbors fenced in area to house some of them, because it is closer to where we are staying and we can keep a better eye on them. While this works out well for certain reasons, it also has its drawbacks...

Recently, our bantam rooster got out... and stayed out. Then, he decided to move in next door, under the neighbors trailer. Since he is very fast and he can fly too, every attempt that we had made to capture him had failed. Often, he'd just run into the thick forest, or back under the neighbors house.

GOTTA GET HIM - OR IT'S SOUP!

Last night we had a conversation with the neighbor lady, and half-jokingly asked her if she liked her new rooster. She basically said that we was planning on enjoying him soon.... in some soup. These are the awkward moments when you really don't know if someone is serious or joking. I made it a point to express my interest in capturing the following day, today. She said that would be good.

Now, I had been given permission to basically do whatever was necessary in my attempt to capture the renegade rooster. This would help.

With Monster Truck the Pepper and Pinkie-Pepper to help, I set off in an attempt to capture the rebel beast. The capture was actually somewhat anticlimactic, because I now had permission to take things a little further than I otherwise would.

It got one look at us coming, and took off under her trailer. With very little crawl space underneath, Monster Truck was the first to head in after it. Soon, the rooster was cornered, and I came in after.

Sure enough, it was cornered. When I got close enough, I stuck the net straight ahead in an attempt to cut off that exit from the corner. As I closed in, it rushed me, and I gently tackled it. Success!

Normally, you won't find me crawling around under my neighbor's houses, unless I have permission first. Apparently, that was the edge that I needed!

HOME SWEET HOME

The children were very happy at our success and knew what we had to do. If we just put the rooster back in with the other chickens, it would just fly out again and return to the neighbor's trailer. While I don't enjoy doing it, we cut his flight feathers. Hopefully when we get everything set up on the land, we will be able to allow them to fly around, but for now we need to train it to stay with the rest of them.

Here he is being released back into the general population. He's on the right side, with a mixture of Guinea Fowl, Muscovy Ducks and Chickens on the other side. He's a beautiful rooster and hopefully he can help increase our flock by fathering some of the next generation.

Who knows what his future will hold, but for now it will not be soup!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-reclaimed-renegade-rooster



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Damm bro do you ever have a boring day?

It looks like you have a new adventure everyday hahaha!

Exciting life!

We mix it up a lot, and it gets pretty random, but it's always something!

I liked the soup part.
Not the real one but the joke part.
Glad you have it in place on time cause Sunday is coming.
Enjoy reading you and it is funny though.

Thanks man! Glad you liked it!

Ha haha ! Oh your so funny today @papa-pepper ! The Rooster was an escaped convict on the Lamb , LOL! Run For Your Life Rooster !!! Haha ! I think he's happy though to back with his other cell mates in general population ! LOL! Thanks for sharing another one of your homesteading escapades with us !! I know some days there's never dull moment !! LOL! 😂🐓😂🐓😂🐓😂😂🐓😂🐓😂🐓

What the human ear is heard as clicks or clucking, in fact is a real language. Scientists have identified a minimum of 30 different chicken "speech" values, ranging from "it's time for me to lay the egg" or "all here, there are a lot of worms! "

Ayam jago...??

Pet animals always a part of recreation. Nice to see. Thanks for sharing the post.

Oh, yes. Having worked on a chicken farm before, there is always plenty of entertainment with them.

Awesome! i am very interesting in like this post!

You wouldn't want one of those boring, sedentary roosters!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46