THE RANDOMNESS OF HOMESTEADING – MAKESHIFT ROOFINGsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Sometimes my life is pretty spontaneous anyway, but with homesteading, you never know what you will encounter some days.


There are times when I do have plans, but I’ve lived long enough to keep them flexible. I am not sure what my plans were supposed to be on Friday afternoon, but out of nowhere one of our STEEM-powered pigs was giving birth.

The fencing that I had up was not adequate for the situation, so I had to drop whatever it was that I was up to and switch gears. Then, on Sunday morning, I woke up and it was raining! The pigs were isolated in one section of the pen that did not have a roof. Soon, I was out in the rain trying to keep our little piggies dry. I thought that I would make a vlog about it and show off our cute piglets.


Now this is the third spontaneous bit of work that I had to do because of these little piglets.

  • 1 - Midwife
  • 2 - Making "piglet-proof" fencing
  • 3 - Makeshift Roofing

THE RANDOMNESS OF HOMESTEADING - MAKESHIFT ROOFING

DREAMS COMING TRUE!

As many of you already know, my dreams are coming true right now. I am really loving the progression that we are making and I am very optimistic about the future.

My mind is still being blown at the role that steemit is playing in it. Just like when we bought our hogs with earnings from steemit, a lot of progress on the land is being made possible because of steemit! I hope that one day your dreams come true too! Steem on!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-keeping-the-pigets-dry



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Build a house of pigs with rewarded money : )

I love the fact steem has helped you accomplish so much. I hope to make progress here like you have. You are living my dream. Soon I plan to move and buy some land. I hope to be as successful as you have been. Thanks for the inspiration.

I am glad that you have a similar goal in life here. Also, hopefully you can learn from my mistakes and help save yourself some time!

cute

@papa you got a plan to feed that many hogs? LoL, I grew up on farms and a lot of babies is always nice at first, but then comes when they mature and the more mouths to feed. If you got a lot of land for them to forage on, that's pretty good, or maybe a bunch of crops to feed them. Maybe buy some extra feed from Steemit profits. I just see that many pigs and am thinking how much they will be eating.

You never know what life will bring you , that is so cute how they are all isolated to one area and you actually built them a shed type thing to protect them from the rain. You put in a lot of work so they can not escape :D love it @papa-pepper

Gotta keep them safe, although there are not too many hazards.

Good work indeed , always keeping yourself busy with different tasks . Man of adventures for sure

They are so cute at that age. Good thing you were available to build them a rain shelter so they didn't drown. I bet you keep your hands full on your homestead. Good thing you are flexible. Thanks for sharing these new additions.

Yeah, I keep it flexible. You're welcome!

This is the story of my life on the farm. Every day I am being pulled away from my current task by some new "emergency" that needs fixing NOW. I am coming to understand that this is just the way farm life is and have stopped getting upset or frustrated. Things will get done, eventually, and the most important get priority.

Good idea not getting frustrated, I'm glad I never started down that path.

It's hard being partly type A and needing to be in control of situations and then being a farmer. The experiences of the farm teach quickly though, else a person won't be farming long. It's great seeing yours coming together as well as it is.

It has been a long journey already, but we are starting the next chapter.

Hahaha that's amazing (and cute! Piglets all over the place lol)

Definitely glad to see other people using their Steem earnings in the real world; motivates and encourages me a lot.

Yeah, steemit can make a big difference and has HUGE potential!

Great post looks like you had a couple of busy days getting the pen ready for those cute little piglets,thanks for sharing.

Day one was getting their pain ready, but it's been busy ever since.

Black pig? Is it really a single parent or some parent Brother ?

The dad is in the next pen over. They are both predominantly a variety called "Large Black."

https://livestockconservancy.org/index.php/heritage/internal/largeblack

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.10
ETH 3209.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49