PASTURE RAISED PORK

in #homesteading7 years ago

I feed my bacon grass!


Sometimes, I am afraid of what I am eating. Like when a “beef stick” has “mechanically separated chicken” on its list of ingredients. I wonder, “Did one get run over by a tractor, or is there an actual machine for separating chicken?

Of course the ways that animals are raised, killed, and processed should be a concern of ours, but we should also wonder about what they ate. It seems that many animals raised in industrial meat production settings are basically fed GMO corn and other things while they live in a hard concrete setting. Many do not even make it outside.

PAPA LIKES IT SIMPLE

Far too frequently, it seems that people just go with the flow and do what others are already doing without asking why. This is also true for those raising animals for meat and the consumers who purchase it. I believe that animals were created in a specific way with specific characteristics which include their natural diet.

As we move forward on the homestead, we plan to eventually have a few pastures to raise many of our animals on, the pigs included. We plan on still feeding them some special treats to keep them coming when we call, but for the most part we hope that their diet will mostly consist of grasses and plants from the field. This will be more cost effective for us and better for the pigs. For now though, we are feeding them a mixture of wild edibles, whole corn, hog feed, garden produce, and table scraps.

At the moment I am clearing the land section by section to replace the existing forest with a food forest, so the hogs are currently being used to eat down and remove the existing growth. This video is from a little bit ago (before our piglets were born) but it gives you the basic idea about some of the ideas that we have for our pigs and our land.

PAPA-PEPPER'S PIGS

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pigs-eating-grass



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

This is great. This is how it should be. I personally went vegetarian recently, but when I did eat meat, I always made sure to support farmers like yourself who are doing it the right way. Most factory farmed meat purchased in the supermarket WILL and IS killing people...people just don't realize it because it happens slowly. But it is a scientifically backed fact with so much blatant evidence it's a wonder people even attempt to dispute it. Regardless, I didn't want to start ranting haha.

I support this entirely! Keep it up and don't change your ways for anything!

Glad to have a vegetarian support this! Also, thanks for making a REAL COMMENT! You get a 100% upvote as my way of saying thanks for checking out my post and commenting, and to display your comment as an example for others. No more "Nice Post - UPVOTE ME!" comments spamming the network.

Thanks @brandocrypto!

Pork that you buy in the store has been grown in a 4'X4' pen with 6 to 8 other pigs, they can't move all they can do is eat and crap.... they are fed GMO corn with a high protien GMO soybean. Pumped full oof growth hormones. In less than 6 months you have a 250lb pig ready for butcher..... Not my kind of pork! Like @papa-pepper our hogs are raised on pasture & finished in the woods. It is the best tasting pork you will ever eat. Of course it takes us 9 to 12 months to get a 150lb pig, but it is definitely worth it! Great post keep up the good work!

Very cool, and I agree!

Home made, home grown, REAL bacon! YES!

Man!!! All I can say is once you eat beef bacon you will let the hogs die of natural causes! Beef bacon is the bomb!

Hog farming is really a big thing. However since being introduced to beef bacon I think it would be much easier to raise cows to get your steaks, milk and bacon all in one.

Interesting. I'll have to look into that. Thanks @beardo, and great to see you here!

Kermit?

HAHAHA!!

Awesome. Your list of animals never ceases to amaze me.

Frog Legs
Image Source

Dude this is crazy cool. Transforming the land using the hogs and then leveraging the land for various other purposes, it's a pretty interesting process.

Clear cutting land is seems destructive and requires a lot of man power...

I also love the fact that you called them steem powered lol.

Keep doing your thing!

I called them STEEM-powered because earnings and donations from steemit were used to purchase them.

I like to work smarter, not harder and allow the animals to what they normally would in ways that can benefit us and get some work done. Thanks!

Oh i know why u called them that, I watched the vid. I just enjoyed it is all.

And yea totally. Modern society forgets how they can work with nature instead of fight against it ...

I sincerely hope that you grow up your food forest soon and spare these innocent and intelligent creatures from cold-blooded murder. It's not just us but all beings wish to live their lives. So it would be great when you won't have to kill such sentient & intelligent beings for the sake of your own survival.

Live & let live! Spread peace & love in this world, not violence, pain & sufferings!

My best wishes and prayers for your food forest!

Man, piglets are so cute <3

We actually started raising chickens a while back, but apparently it was a bad idea because I can't stand to let anybody eat them ; w ;
I even refuse to eat their eggs unless we get a separate pen for the hens... XD

We have like two left, and they're more-or-less glorified pets :v
We actually feed them cat food.... tho I do try to give them lots of flowers and plants to munch on. Timmy loves yellow flowers <3
//SHOT//

Chickens are freaking hard to raise tho, everything tries to eat them ; - ;

When my folks talked about trying out farming, I was thinking more like... potatoes, tomatoes, stuff like that. Bluh.

I suck at keeping stuff from dying tho - 3 -);;; Even plants....

Everything does try to eat chickens. A few of ours are sitting on eggs right now. Hopefully we get some chicks soon!

Papa's pepper's pigs. Fantastic!

Best way there is to be makin bacon! 🥓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63