LIVE AND LEARN - A CHANGE OF PLANS ON THE HOMESTEAD

in #homesteading6 years ago

Truthfully, I am still very new at all of this.


As we consider building our homestead and how to do things, the possibilities are almost endless. Time and time again we encounter different ideas and there is only so much that we can do or incorporate into our design and plan. Originally, I had one specific plan that I began working towards, but, due to some recent events, I am changing it up a bit. Hopefully it'll work out better for us, and this may even give some of you some things to think about.

PAPA SHARING SOME RECENT THOUGHTS ABOUT CHANGING THE PLAN

GARDENING GOALS

If you've followed my posts for any amount of time know, you are probably well aware that we desire to grow the majority of our own food supply right here on our land. This means that at least some of our land will be permanently devoted to garden space.

Besides the "traditional" garden, we are also planning on transforming much of our property into a food forest, where the trees, shrubs, vines, bushes, and grown covers are all edible, medicinal, and useful. Over time we will phase out the existing forest and replace it with one designed to fulfill our needs. It'll require a lot of work and time, but that is our goal and the direction that we are moving forward in.

LETTING THE ANIMALS DO WHAT THEY DO TO BLESS YOU!

Part of our original goal was to "work smarter not harder." This includes using things like the natural instincts of various animals to help in the process. I first began using goats and pigs to eat the undesirable plants. Once they reach the ground level, we can encourage the pigs to uproot their root systems by sprinkling whole corn on the ground.

The original idea had been to use some temporary pens to move the pigs through our fields and covert them into bare earth and open dirt. At that point we had been covering the ground with a thick layer of mulch, sometimes after spreading seeds for plants like Daikon Radishes and Austrian Winter Peas first.

The mulch not only blocks out weed growth but also begins to break down and decompose, adding to the soil. The plants break open the tough soil beneath, and when the tops of them die, they add biomass to the soil too. So far this process has been working very well.

ENTER THE GRAZERS!

However, now I have began to reevaluate the process, because we have finally gotten around to adding some grazing animals into our homesteading mix. We do not plan on feeding these animals grain or hay all year round, so having some thick, lush pastures available will be beneficial.

This is where the change in plans comes in. I realized that the forest floor has substantially less undergrowth than the amount of plants that exist in the fields. Also, now I need some fields for pasture land. If I eliminate the fields for garden space, then I'll have to eliminate forest for pasture land. Not only will I not be able to use any of the natural grasses and plants that grow in the fields, I would have to start from basically nothing to create a pasture.

ENTER THE DOZER!

Once I saw what a big bulldozer was capable of, I soon realized I had another option. Trust me, removing trees one at a time with a chainsaw and shovel is a lot of work. If I want to start my gardens fresh from nothing, then the forest floor is a much better starting place than the fields.

The dozer can completely clear a spot for my gardens in minutes. Then I can mulch it and start fresh. In the fields, I can just work on removing the unwanted plants and adding some more desirable ones into the mix. This should allow us to move forward at a much quicker rate of speed.

Obviously we will continue to learn, apply, and evaluate, but so far we are very optimistic and we are really enjoying the process of turning this raw land into a functional homestead that will provide for our family for years to come.

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Where is the proof? 😎

Isn't no proof proof that I changed my mind?

Lol! I literally just thought the same thing!!

Haha!! Nice catch!!

I really like your plans. Nowadays the self-sufficiency is really undervalued. I don't know if people are just spoiled or they don't have enough time because of long working hours to do it. So thumbs up and wish you all the best. Can't wait to see your progress.

Well, you live in an area with fairly good soil all around and enough rain water to keep everything composting, even without man's help. So, you can probably get away with this just fine.

Here, I would have to consider the difference in soil conditions. If I chose a foresty place, I would probably need to bring in a lot more materials for composting. And a lot of shit for fertilizer.

Tree leaves are toxic to many plants. That is why things don't grow in the shade, not because of the shade. But, it looks like you got lots of leaf litter, and can properly compost it. A composite pile, allowed to get to temperature will bake off all the toxins.


You may also like to look into food forests.
(Unfortunately, this means tearing out all the trees anyway)
With a food forest, you plant a canopy crop of good nitrogen creating trees. Then you plant smaller fruiting trees. And then you plant fruiting bushes and then you plant things that grow well in the undergrowth (like strawberries).

If you set these up correctly, they are a low work form of yearly food. You plant things like asparagus or artichokes, which keep growing up year after year.

But, but, you will still want raised beds for your tomatoes and chilis. Because, we can't have you going without salsa. That would just be bad.

So, you may want to look into hugelkultur where you take tree logs and then you pile dirt and compost stuff on top. And the logs break down providing nutrients to your garden growing above.

Hugelkultur and a Food Forest are on my to do list! I'm all about getting the biggest ROI without needed to invest more and more effort every year! Thanks!

I just looked at hugelkulter and wow what a neat idea. Thanks for the info.

Food forests? Letting animals do the work? Cover crops and mulch!!?

Are you a closet permaculturalist?

@papa-pepper Yes Life is all about being able to adjust your plans. I know that you will only get better and it will be so fun to see how all of your ideas get implemented. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

Happy Thanksgiving! Thank you @stockjockey!

Thank you for sharing with us @papa-pepper. It is how it is. Plans change while you are in the process of building something great! You have the spirit of God in you which will lead you every day! Everything you are busy doing is so exciting!

Thank you for all of that! Be blessed @hope777!

Thank you!!

We seem to re-evaluate and change plans on the homestead on a regular basis. That is how we learn and grow. As new technology becomes available we can utilize that to make new plans to make better use of what we have. You are on the right track @papa-pepper!

WE have some land that is wooded/mix now as well and I would love to also see that become a sustainable food forest. My next project is my chickens are getting a bigger home and permanent run. A fox got some the other day so am going to try and rear a separate group of chickens for free ranging. For now I am going to put these guys in an enclosed run to keep what I have. I really want a greenhouse for next summer. My desire is a fruit house. It all looks so good, and congratulation on moving towards more self sustainability.

I enjoyed hearing your plans and some of the planned changes. Being flexible is key to success. Having been a homesteader for 39+ years, I call plans and actions 'temporary' at best. lol
For your future pastures, I will suggest growing oats. The reasons are; oats create a large root mass and crowd out most weeds, so you're cleaning the slate before seeding pasture grasses. We usually grow the oats out until they reach the 'milky' stage (when the seeds exude a milk when you squeeze them) and the oat hay is still green. At this point turn the grazers on it or harvest (weed-eater) and dry for storage. Depending on the season plant pasture seed in the oat stubble. Oats take about 2 months and you probably can start early spring and still end early enough to have pasture established in the summer.
Our milk goats love this and it makes for some good milk too.
I hope this helps you on your homestead journey.
The best to you and your family for a HappyThanksgiving.

Happy thanksgiving @bilbop! Thanks a lot for all of your advice! I honestly appreciate it!

It's a process and unless we are willing to change we will not succeed. Great post thanks for the update.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61450.33
ETH 2982.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60