LENDING A HELPING HAND - BLUERTHANGREEN LEARNS TO TRIM HOOVES

in #homesteading7 years ago

Life has been a lot of learning and teaching lately.


A large variety of activities that I now frequently find doing were completely unknown to me just two years ago. From the type of animal husbandry that we are now engaged in to operating heavy machinery to a wide range of other tasks, it's all stuff that I've learned recently. Thankfully, I cannot only show my @little-peppers how a lot of these things are done, but I can pass the knowledge on to others too!

HELPING THE NEIGHBORS

It wasn't too long ago that I was trimming the hooves of our sheep for the first time in my life. Yesterday, I was already passing that knowledge on to my neighbor. For those of you who don't already know, @bluerthangreen and @allforthegood live right next door to me, so we often help one another out.

One of their goats had a tear on its ear. Possibly, their dog was the guilty party. Since a long strip of it was dangling, we had to cut it off before it tore and made matters worse. In the photo above you should be able to see a bit of blood on the ear closest to me.

Since I had been planning on showing them how to trim the goats' hooves anyway, this seemed like the easiest time to do it. After all, we were already in the pen, with the goats, and had a razor blade with us. There are many tools that people can use for this task, including dremels and shears, but I've always been pretty handy with a razor blade and it can get the job done.

They had two female goats that we wanted to give a "pedicure" to, so that was a total of eight hooves, each split into two halves. Since @bluerthangreen is a fast learner, I only have to demonstrate on one hoof and he took care of the rest. Not only did it give us a chance to help keep his goats in optimum health, it also gave us an opportunity to hang out and talk a bit. It is such a blessing to have helpful friends so close by.

The two does that they have right now are very different from one another. One is a larger "meat goat" with her horns intact, of the Boer variety. The other is a younger "milk goat" who has been dis-budded, of the Nubian type. Hopefully they will be able to breed and provide more goats for the years to come!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pedicure

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

this is really a very good job how to care for goats.
I got a lot of knowledge from @papa-peppe.
on how to care for animals.
thanks my true friends @papa-peppr have shared.

A farrier trims hooves on horses. What name would you give to goat hoof trimmers?

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Much like a tree that has been trimmed too short, I'm stumped.

Using a sharp knife "Bloody Silly"
Goatherder would probably fit.

Years ago I was tasked looking after some aspects of occupational safety.
The theory that they worked on was
for every 330 times you take the same risk [cutting hooves with sharp knives instead of foot rot shears for example] 299 you will get away with it. 30 times you will cut yourself. once you will lose a finger.
it is a random selection, how much of a gambler are you?
Use the right tool for the job, it is easier and a lot safer.

Thanks for the important info..👍

May the goats get well soon and healthy @papa-pepper. I like you, because you someone loves animals.

I certainly do enjoy the animals out there in the world.

In my region, Aceh (Indonesia), I am very fond of elephants and other wildlife that are often killed by hunters.

wow amazing you tame the people and nurture gratitude brother

brother please help me to be like brother @papa-pepper

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Thanks brother

Good in rearing and taking care of animals. Nice photo@papa-pepper

Thank you, the photos were compliments of our seven year old, Pinkie-Pepper.

Friends may I have your attention please. My profile reputation score(rank ) fell down from 30 to 13. So please anyone tell me what is the reason.

I had a brief glance at your profile I didn't open any of your posts but my first thought is you are posting others work/videos here, Steemit is big into original work mate try not copy others not saying you are but if you are that may the the issue, use it don't use it etc.. Take it easy. Cheer$;)

@craigcryptoking Thanks for your attention. Can I get back my reputation score

Just start posting original content and start making friends.

I understand very well. Thanks for suggestion

you are very kind to animals, its humble habit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66