HARVESTING KALE IN DECEMBER

in #homesteading7 years ago

Past its prime but still useful on the homestead.


Since I am from up north, I'm not used to this sort of thing. Until recently, we were still harvesting fresh kale and mustard greens from the garden. Now that I also have a greenhouse to set up, we should be able to grow certain foods year round!

Kale is an especially nutritious food that we enjoy raw, in soups, in stirfrys, in salads, and baked as kale chips. The @little-peppers even enjoy it raw as a snack. After a few cold snaps, our kale was certainly still safe for human consumption, but we also had another idea.

WHAT NOW?

Well, kale isn't only used to feed people. Some animals can also enjoy it as a tasty treat. The @little-peppers enjoy treating the animals, and when we can grow our own treats and snacks for them, it just makes it that much better.

The rabbits that we keep near our poultry really enjoyed it. Many little mouths were soon nibbling on the tasty green leaves and the stems. We like providing all that we can for our animals, and the less feed they need, the better. The more fresh and nutritious foods that we can provide for them, the less money we need to spend on feed too.

After seeing how much those rabbits enjoyed it, the @little-peppers decided to pick a bucket full to share with some of our other rabbits down on the land. Yes, young Monster Truck the Pepper is sneaking a snack from the bucket.

Sure enough, the rabbits down on the land were eager to receive this treat too! Thankfully, we still have more growing for later.

DID YOU NOTICE THE SIZE?

Did you see how big that one kale plant was? Personally, I think that this was the biggest one we ever grew. Not only were we able to eat off of it for a while, but now the animals can enjoy that same plant. I wonder how much bigger it would have gotten if it could have kept growing.

Things like this are blessings for us. Not only can we grow our own food, we can also use every last bit of it. We can eat some, share some, give some to the animals, or compost it. There is always a use for natural things like this if you put a little thought into it, and we prefer to waste as little as we can.

Have any of you ever grown kale that got this big?

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-kale



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I grew some for the first time, last season. It did pretty well. I left a few plants to go to seed, and they flowered for quite a long time (excellent for the bees!) but as they began to pod up the aphids moved in.

I think you have to grow the right variety, too. Some have practically more stalk than leaf. Our guinea pigs love it, though, so I can well imagine how your rabbits all feasted on it. :)

Good post.
Upvote and resteem

Yes you are welcome.
I have new my post. Please check

nice one good post

friends i need your spot please visit my blog thanks

Past her prime but still useful on the homestead.

When it's delicious when we cook with salt and play. Thank you @papa-pepper for this information

Upvoted and followed @papa-pepper :) :) :)

I used to not eat kale, but since I've moved here to the Philippines, I have.

I think it is a good choice. It is very healthy for us.

Great idea @papa-pepper ! We also feed our habits and chickens all sorts of different stuff once the garden is done in the fall , the rabbits like yours really love the Leftover Greens , haha thanks for sharing your cute rabbit photos with us ! Steem On ! Upped and resteemed to share with my foodie followers in my @momskitchen blog ! 🐰🐇🐰🐇🐰

Thanks so much! I appreciate it!

Your very welcome !👍

Thank for sharing @papa-pepper, I think it is a very fun activity, in addition to beneficial to humans, kale can also be used as rabbit food. Activity like this can be done to fill the empty time at home, especially on holidays. I feel interested to do this at my home.

Hello. I wonder if Kale can also be planted in tropical countries such as Philippines. I heard it is healthy and good tasting. I do not really have any idea since I seldom eat veggies. haha

wow brother.nice working.

Kale is a great superfood! Year round garden fresh vegetables will be awesome with your greenhouse. I'm sure you will optimize it in combination with the longer growing season. A feast for family and animals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73