DEWORMING GOATS WITH TOBACCO

in #homesteading5 years ago

Like many animals, goats can get parasites.


It's just part of life sometimes, but, if left untreated, it can end in death. Like many homesteaders, we like to use natural means whenever possible, and that includes using natural dewormers to restore our livestock to health.

After talking to Shalom Acres and receiving some tobacco seeds from them, we grew our own tobacco last year and saved some for the winter. Today, I try using it to help deworm a couple of our goats.

GOATS & TOBACCO VIDEO

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!

Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

Sort:  

Wow! Surprisingly i never knew goat could be dewormed talk more of using tobacco
It's very interesting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Now you know, knowledge is power!

So this may be a dumb question, but they actually like the taste enough to eat enough to be effective?

Some will just eat it, for others you have to mix it into the food. Good question.

I've never heard of using tobacco as a dewormer before I watched this video, very interesting. :D
Hopefully your goats will be good in a day or two and won't need to be dewormed again for a while. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

Cool, it seems that a lot of people know the power of the tobacco, but some of us are still learning! Glad you know now!

I didn't know that you could use tobacco for deworming. Glad it's working though. Hopefully the goats feel better soon.

Yeah, it's nice to still have a use for it! LOL

Hey! I just saw your homesteading site. Bookmarking, very nice.

Cool! Thanks! We are excited about it!

Hey there @papa-pepper we met in Kansas City at Stella's meet up. Dropping by to say hello. I clicked your homesteader's store. You have a nice website and I believe a good idea here.

I just realized I am in here in my alt account @photobe .. you know me as @rebeccabe

Oh yes! I was trying to place @photobe, but @rebeccabe certainly rings a bell! Thanks for saying hi, and for checking out the store!

Congratulations @papa-pepper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 38000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 39000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I’ve heard that before. Tobacco’s pretty interesting. It can also be used to eliminate bruising and swelling if someone has an injury.

In case you didn’t see my earlier comment, expect a surprise in the mail in a few days. ☺️

Whoa! I must have missed that other comment. I just took a day off. Wow, so cool! Thank you!

@papa-pepper I have used chewing Tobacco to deworm my pets for years.
I have also heard that carrots might work with cats and dogs, but have never tried it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94